We've arrived in Kottayam!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
June 26th 2011
Published: June 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all, this is Chad. We arrived safely in Kottayam. We took a train to get here. The trip wasn't as long as some of us were anticipating. We had two sleeper cars and ran into a nice couple who was on their way home from visiting family. I learned a lot about India in that conversation. We left Trivandrum today about 5pm. Church was great. Chris did communion, we all sang Thank You Lord in English for the Church, Collin and Tim preached an incredible message from Hebrews and Debbie and I put on a show after Church. It was funny, when we stepped up to sing Thank You Lord in English, the brother running sound thought that was his cue to play my back up track, so as we started the church heard, "He's probably looking down saying DONT THANK ME." Debbie has been standing in as my hype girl. We had our second performance today and I'm scheduled to play at least twice more. As I rapped on stage, it was definitely interesting because Indians are a lot more reserved than Americans . . . so they pretty much just stared at me. We had the lyrics printed out so they knew what I was saying : ) Tim even understood what I was saying . . . for the first time ever. Once we went into Loser we could tell that the croud was feeling it. Everyone seem to be very encouraged.

After Tim lead a marriage devo and Chris and I spent some time with the single brothers and had a devo encouraging them to step up and lead. There are some incredible brothers and sisters in Trivandrum. It is sincerely my desire for you all to spend some time here. You will leave changed. . . for the better : )

Yesterday we went out to meet people in the streets and invite them to church. We met a lot of people. Some even came. There was a woman that Tim Met from Northern Ireland who is married to

Our Hotels and the overall experience so far is much better than I expected. I was expecting to suffer for three weeks and see God work through that to mold my character. Instead, he is working through the LOVE of the disciples here. We have really only spent time in one city, but I've already made real friendships and have grown to love these brothers and sisters sincerly. It's 11pm here and I'm going to let Collin Jump on. I love you and look forward to hearing from you soon.

-Chad



Hello Family! I want to bring you all greetings from your brothers and sisters in the Trivandrum Church. Our time here in India is off to an incredible start. From the moment we arrived in Trivandrum, the love from our family there was overwhelming! In just a couple of days, they taught me so much about the true heart of discipleship. They taught me what it truely means to be joyful in all circumstances as well as trusting in God at all times. There are so many inspiring conversion stories and stories about persevering disciples that I am looking forward to passing onto you all when we return.

I am also very grateful to have met Christy and Lucy, the church leaders there in Trivandrum. They are tremendous servants of God and their love for him and his children is obvious in everything that they do.

At almost every oppurtunity, the disciples here express their gratitude for the Detroit Church and the financial sacrifice that we are making to help support their work here. However, once you meet them and you see the amazing things that God is doing through them, you can't help but to want to give them more upto even the shirt off your back 😊 Which I didn't just in case you were wondering, but that is just because I wanted to hold to my convictions on modesty 😊

Thanks you so much for all of your prayers for us and your Indian brothers and sisters! I love you all and I look forward to updating you again soon.

Love,
Collin


Advertisement



26th June 2011

Great News!
Thank you guys for the blog, it is so great to hear about all of the things you guys are experiencing over there :) We can't wait to hear more when you get back! Have fun in Kottayam! Love you....especially you collin :)
27th June 2011

Sentimental
Hey guys- I cannot tell you how happy I am that you are all there, serving God, and meeting our family in India. They really are grateful and inspired by our willingness to give. It is the same heart we experienced in 2005, 2007, and 2009! I am looking forward to hearing about all you are learning in detail when you return!! It's the best! Enjoy Kottayam! love Jen
27th June 2011

Pics
Tell Chris we want to see some pictures! And upload a team pic for the profile page too! love you all! Jen
27th June 2011

Greetings from GR
Hi all, So encouraged to read all the reports and hear that things are going so well. We are praying for everyone especially our GR teen. We know God is pleased with all that you are doing. Stay encouraged and we can't wait to hear more about the lives impacted by your decision to join your brothers and sisters in India to meet the various needs of the people there.
28th June 2011

Thanks for the updates!
It has been great "Joining" you on your trip as we read your inspirational words. Thanks for your hearts! What a fun & crazy group! I hope the brothers & sisters there can handle you! :-) Be safe. We're praying for you here in Grand Rapids. Love, The Robinson Family

Tot: 0.435s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb