Hangin out with the cows


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all and Namaste
We have travelled to Dharnsura now enroute to the long awaited marriage to be held in Vadodara. Staying a couple of days, a couple of hours outside of Ahmedabad we have rested and are about to embark on some 'awesome' (I generally don't like that word) shopping in Ahmedabad. Yesterday evening saw me feed rotali (female flat bread!!!! joke in India) to a wondering cow up the village street outside this house. I will upload photos soon hopefully. I was really chuffed about it as I had no concept that they were actually fed and had to scavange through the mountains of rubbish during their days while dodging traffic or more aptly traffic dodge them. House after house women coming out with a rotali in hand and an exchange of a blessing from cow. I was truly awestruck. I must say the photo is brilliant and I can't wait to show you all. I was also ushered onto the main street of Dharnsura yesterday afternoon as the Textile Minister of India passed through, of whom stopped and got out of his car to specifically meet me. It was all very quick and I wasn't completely aware of what was happening to me as I was thrusted into his hand shake. He asked the politically correct question of 'how I am liking India?' and that I am welcome to come and eat in his home. Of course because that is all Indians do is eat. I have got so fat. I have been bestowed with gifts already while being here and it is very humbling as well as embarrassing for me as I would not be able to return even a percentage of their hospitality and caring and giving.

Today I visited a family vardi (farm) that has been in the family for over 50 years in a village outside Dharnsura. I was more amazed that alot of storage such as cotton bolls and cattle feed are stored in the ceiling compartments of the house. I just had to jump into the cotton!!! Though I am a little itchy now.

I think the most humbling and memorable experience of this trip will be with me for a lifetime and that is meeting Sonnelben's mamma. In the little village we visited today I noticed the smallest and most frail little old lady without shoes, without teeth, without fat on her body and at least half my size in height. I just wanted to photograph her so much. But as with all my photos I find it very difficult to encroach on anyones space nor photograph someone as though they are some sort of freak. My want was out of complete amazement and curiousity. Well this little old lady turned out to be the family labourer from 50 years passed and all her children who lived around the farmhouse and in the village. When I heard it was my mamma and pappa's domestic helpers' mamma I was filled with happiness and overwhelming emotion. I even had to get down on my knees to speak with her and tell her through interpretation how much I love her daughter and how her daughter works so hard and looks after me and my family so well. And of course especially her best chai making in the whole wide world. You will be amazed at her stature and strength when I show you the photos.

I just want to say as much as it is hard to exercise in India and there is food preparation and eating constatnly, I am so hanging out for some peanut MnM's. Hun (my Chris) when you are doing all the fruit and veg shopping before I arrive home, could you please please please throw in some peanut MnM's as well.

Love to you all.
Tessy
x0x0x0
Avju


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb