Public Internet / Indian Toilet


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
June 15th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I found the internet cafe in the Hauz Khas Market, but hopefully I won't need to come around here that often because the family should be getting an internet hookup in their home soon. I don't like walking around too far from the home but it seems that most things I need are nearby.
I had coffee with a girl from the UK last night. She's an aspiring fashion designer who has spent the last few years traveling around. She likes Delhi and would like to settle down here but hasn't comitted yet. We're supposed to meet up again today and go to another market nearby where she promises I can find great Indian dresses at a good price.
I haven't quite settled in to the home where I'm staying yet. It's so strange to be renting out a room in someone else's house. I feel like we are all uncomfortable most of the time. I wish I knew Hindi so I could do more than smile at their parents. I want them to be comfortable with me, but its hard because I'm acting so awkward there. I used their indian style toilet this morning. It was really different for me. I'm not sure if I'm supposed to tell them when I'm going to leave the house or what time I'll be home. I'm not sure I'm supposed to assist the cleaning lady with taking my dishes to the sink or if I can ask questions during cricket matches. I know it's just a strange situation and it will probably get better once I start working and get into a routine with home and work. Hopefully then I won't have time to get homesick or anything. I can't believe I'm looking forward to starting work!

Advertisement



15th June 2008

Let them know
Letting them know when you are coming and going is an excellent plan from a safety point of view!! I can't believe you've already started watching cricket :) Do you have a favorite cricketer already?

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb