A farewell to Darj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Siliguri
January 27th 2006
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had originally wanted to go either to or from Darjeeling via the Toy Train, however my enthusiasm for this had waned, having heard tales of how frequently the 6 hour journey could become 8 or 9 hours, plus the route it follows is so close to the road that the views aren't much different. So instead I simply went to the station this morning and took a few photos. Later in the day, on my way back to Siliguri by Jeep, we passed the train coming up, maybe 6 hours into its journey - the passengers did not look as though they were still enjoying the experience.

In order to be full of energy for the day ahead, I ordered chicken sausages in one of the cafes - and got 11 of the blighters. Though they weren't large, this was still more of an American-sized portion than an Indian one.

After a final circumambulation to see a (dismal) view of K, I headed down to the main bazaar area to pick up a Jeep to Siliguri. It was cheaper to get there than it had been coming up, plus the Jeep was only half full so my legs were happy, plus it was a shorter journey - good points all.

On arriving in Siliguri, the door was opened by a rickshaw tout, and the requests came flying in from all sides. "Where are you going sir? Auto-rickshaw? Cycle rickshaw?" I named the hotel I wanted to go to and then a miracle happened. One of the touts said it was just up the road, walking distance away. And it was too. So a rickshaw man willingly gave up some custom as he knew it was in my best interests to tell me I could walk it. My faith in human nature was restored.

The hotel here is the Lonely Planet's top recommendation, and is very clean with all the facilities I could want, for a mere Rs 400. The restaurant served me an excellent meat dish too, though they were showing "Garfield The Movie" on the TV.

Unrelated to anything I've just mentioned, my boots really stink. I've had to resort to blasting them with my deoderant every so often, as otherwise I can sometimes get the odour wafting up to my nose when I'm simply sitting at a table. I can only imagine this will get worse as I head further south and the weather gets warmer and more humid. Pity those around me ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My Jeep from Darj to SiliguriMy Jeep from Darj to Siliguri
My Jeep from Darj to Siliguri

Note strategic location of crack in windscreen


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb