practically a local


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
July 8th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am now offically registered as a volunteer at Prem Dam. Went there today, going there tomorrow. On friday Katie, Alicia, Meghan, Jamie and I get to check out a more rural area (around Raiganj) with a Father Puthumai. Should be gone about a week, and I might be incommunicado.

So, on my first day volunteering a Prem Dam, the auto rickshaw ride cost 8 rupees a head, was terrifying, and a motorcycle hit us at low speed (the operators of both vehicles were fairly friendly about the incident, seeing as there was no damage or injuries). Today, I went back to the mother house from Prem Dam with Kaite and a friendly Spaniard, and the shady-looking driver (yeah, it takes one to know one) charged us 50 rupees a head! Yes, I know that's only about 1.25$, but still I felt those rupees coming out of my pocket. Thats a very good meal at Fresh andf Juicy! I even tried my best "asalam alaykum, bhai" (he had pictures of Mecca in his vehicle) and I tried to tell him that I am a "ferangi buddihaan", but to no avail. What a gaandu. From now on I will walk (it's less 2 than miles from where I am staying, on main streets, and I only need to turn once).

Advertisement



8th July 2008

$$$
working on getting that check to you so thieving rickshawers don't bleed you dry. sam and i have really been enjoying the blog; you're our number one spot for Internet fun. well, you and icanhascheeseburger. stay safe! if it's brown, drink it down. if it's black, send it back!
9th July 2008

Raiganj
good luck in the countryside, there is a bird sanctuary nearby. Looks like Fr. Puthumai directs a multi-action Social Welfare Institute and is known for a wonderful sense of humor.
27th November 2010
Gaand

hacker
i am the best but not a good
16th June 2011
Gaand

Vgmgwpja
Gmadgm

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb