Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Haldia
March 30th 2012
Published: April 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

06.00 Hours Friday 30 March

I am up early this morning as I had mentioned to Surinder that I wanted to buy some nice Bengali sweets to take to Cochin with me.

He tells that he goes to the shop Vien every morning for breakfast and I can tag along.

We go on the scooter to the maiden by the Victoria memorial and as it is 6 in the morning I can hardly believe my eyes as the park is full of people thousands , power walking, jogging, yoga , in fact all kinds of activities.

We spend an hour there and back on the scooter to Vien. We stand in the street with some of Surinders friends and have chai, samosas and biscuits. All very civilized in Kolkata early in the morning.

Back to the guest house and off to see Eden Gardens again. I go to security and ask if there is a shop and they wave me to go up the stairs. Up I go and straight into the stadium. Awesome.

Don’t ask me who the kid in the photo is. He took my photo so I had to take his.

I go back to the river and take a ferry south and then take a rick to the Botanic Gardens, famous for its big Banyan tree which has a 420 metre canopy. Just looks like a load of trees to me but a nice walk round the garden but not much to see for me.

Back over the river to rest as I am up early in the morning to fly to Cochin via Mumbai.

That’s the end of my 5 weeks alone and now to have a” Holiday


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb