Off to the hills


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
April 10th 2009
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I'm heading back to Kalkota (Calcutta) buy an english language paper at the station and read the general strike is over in Darjeeling ... so a quick consult of the timetables, 2 hrs in the ticket office and my plans are changed again as I head to the hills via the Darjeeling mail again. No travel problems this time, just more personal issues ... The change of temperature (it was literally freezing in Darjeeling and the previous days prawn curry caught up with me and I find myself sitting in bed with a hot water bottle with a stinking cold and a well worn route to the toilet!

After feeling sorry for myself for a day I crawl out into the clouds which sadly never lifted and went exploring on the steam trains, the Tensing museum (The sherpa who was the first to climb Everest) and explore temples and the tea plantations.

I have to say this area despite the cold and my illness was one of my favourites, the people have a strong tibetan influence and were very friendly. The scenery is spectacular and if the clouds lift so you could see the Himalayan range would be even more impressive. The steam railway is from another age. Those who know me will appreciate why I found it a highlight 😊 but it wasn't just that it was a steam train, the railway is run as though it was in the Victorian age. I will definitely be coming back here again one day ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Life in IndiaLife in India
Life in India

Poverty is alas an everyday part of life in India, here the driver is providing the odd lump of coal
Mind the trainMind the train
Mind the train

Shopkeepers literally have to take stuff off the front of the shops to let the train go by in Kurseong the halfway point of the line
Kurseong engine shedKurseong engine shed
Kurseong engine shed

this could have been shot in 1908 never mind 2008
Tensings equipment he used to climb EverestTensings equipment he used to climb Everest
Tensings equipment he used to climb Everest

I would have the same kind of stuff for a walk in the Lakes!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb