Valeriavine in Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
April 13th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Was this city made for me or what?!!!!!!
thanks to everyone's good wishes before i departed, my trip seems to be flanked with many guardian angels (or Ganeshes as they say here). I am staying in the Kumiko Guest house in the Old city. The Guest house is run by the illustrious Kumiko San and her Indian husband and international son. the heat here is dry and baking and there is not much to do at high noon but to try and avoid it as best you can.

The old city is like a myriad of alleyways filled with people, cows, bulls, dogs, cats, monkeys children and everything!!!! .... plus all their respective turds they poop out too so you have to watch your step!

this is only my first day here so I can't say I've seen "places" as such but just walking the streets is an experience to be had! In fact my first night was spent on the train here to Varanasi.

Just to backtrack to yesterday which already seems like a week ago I managed to arrive in Delhi at 7:00am in the morning buy my return ticket to Varanasi and my onward trip to Ajmer as well as book accomodation for me and my friend Maria in Delhi wen she arrives to do the Ajmer trip with me. and at the emd of that catch my train to Varanasi! This would not have been possible without meeting my guardian angel from Berlin who is an experienced Asia traveller and floated us through the whole thing with such casual finesse.

this evening I will watch the sunsett over the ganges and then hangout with my Japanese friends back at Kumiko San's. Hmm that's all for now. a bit scatty i know but I'm sooo itching to get out of this internet cafe but I also want you all to know I'm having a ball and my senses are just bursting with overstimulation!!!!!!!

Big kisses to you all and thanks fr all your kind thoughts and wishes they are really keeping me good company! xoxoxoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



13th April 2006

go girl
Go girl, it sounds as though you will have a fantastic holiday.I can't wait tp see the pics.Have a great easter, will miss you at dancing. talk soon all love jj

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb