My 1st train journey in India!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys

OMG what a strange and scary 24 hours I have had!!! After spending our last day in Agra milling around and trying to find coats ready for Nepal, we gave up after buying long johns! Yes u have read this right - I WILL BE WEARING LONG JOHNS!!! Ha ha! I think it's so funny but the cold here makes u do strange things! I haven't worn them yet but wait till I get to Nepal! I'm gonna look like a granny!

We took ou driver out for dinner to Mayas as it was our last night with him - he is such a sweety! Throughout our jorney with him, he was always calling us to make sure we were in the hotel safely after bventuring out on our own!

Tundla Train Station!

We were thn taken to Tundla train station which is about 20km outside of Agra to catch our 11.36pm train to Varanasi. As soon as we arriveds, I became this petrified rabit in headlights! It was so overwhelming! I have never been to New Delhi Station but have been told by the girls it was 10 times worse than Tundla! Yet I was still so petrified! I think it was the fear of the uunknown and the fact that the station was sprawling with local men covered up to the eyes in shawls and staring at us constantly. Had a few hairy moments with stalkers but nothing we couldn't handle.


The driver took us to the right platform and said out goodbyes! I didnt want him to leave as he looked after us so well but now we had to fend for ourselves! Huddled togethr, with our backpacks locked to the eats, we huddled together ready for for our 5 hour wait for our train - the train was delayed until 1.30am! Just as tensions where high and me being so petrified, the pigeons started crapping on Marianne - all in all she got crapped on 4 times! That eased the tension straight away and we were in fits of giggles!

Finally our train arrived at 1.45am and it was a mad scramble to find the correct compartment we were booked in - 3AC. We hoisted ourselves onto he train and found that the carraige was full top to bottom of beds with teh snoring of men in
SI851199SI851199SI851199

Lunch at Mayas rooftop terrace on last day in Agra
the background. Instantly I felt much calmer - I dont know what it was - maybe the fact that I had very low expectations of the carriage. We settled ourselves in to our birth and were given fresh blankets, towels, pillows and sheets! As soon as my head hit the pillow I was asleep and woke up the next morning refreshed - the best sleep I have had in India!

We arrived in Varanasi greeted by hoards of taxi men wanted to take our custom. After 40 mins of bartering and me having arguments with one taxi driver ( really p*ssed me off as he was a cheeky sod and I gave as good as I got!), we arrived at our hostel where I am know chillin! It's very very basic, but there are a lot of backpackers here which is a relief as we havent seen a group of backpackers since we have been in India!

Varanasi is very busy with many small streets leading up to the ghats. Tomorrow, we will take a sunrise tour of the Ganges and spend some time taking in the sights!

Until next time!

Dee


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SI851207SI851207
SI851207

Our train!


25th January 2008

Ha ha ha !!
Very good dee, u are become good at writing these things now! A mixture of being informative and humour! Sorry to hear about the pigeon thing-but I was launghing my head off as I can imagine u were! Px ps...the driver looks a lil scared..!! Ha ha ha!!
30th January 2008

Ha Ha!
Birds crapped on by birds - love it. Keep writting:-) take care. x
16th February 2008

Long Johns
Long Johns are cool! :)

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb