The death of 2005 in Lucknow


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Lucknow
December 31st 2005
Published: January 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Due to various delays, the train journey stretched by 2 hours to 13.5 hours, which was not welcome in my weakened state. I'd chosen the most luxurious hotel of my trip so far for my stay in Lucknow - the $70 per night Gemini Continental. Though it was in good condition and in some ways bore a resemblance to American motels, it was no better than the place I had stayed in in McLeod Ganj, which had cost less than half the price. Additionally, the restaurant and laundry were both significantly more expensive than anywhere I've stayed.

Once more, I was given completely incorrect information about the location of Internet cafes and opticians. I eventually found an area that was crawling with opticians, but it seems as though the only cleaning solution available for gas permeables is the stuff that I already have, so I think I'm stuck with it. Lucknow itself seems like the other cities I've been to in India, with crazy traffic, droves of people, and a general sense of mayhem. I didn't see any other foreigners, but it's unlikely that many people would choose to come here for New Year (my only reason was that it was the largest city on my route at this time).

Even though my stomach was still fragile, I decided I'd have to celebrate the incoming New Year in some fashion, so I bought a Diet Pepsi and a Dairy Milk. I spent the afternoon and evening in bed watching TV, then consumed the above when 2006 arrived. There was some sort of open-air rave going on nearby, the sound from which created a festive atmosphere, including fireworks at midnight. I felt strangely detached watching this from 2 storeys up while munching on a chocolate bar.

So not the most energetic of New Year's Eves for me, though my health has probably benefitted from the non-existent alcohol consumption. 2005 was a fairly momentous year, so I'm looking forward to seeing what 2006 will bring. Right now, though, I'd just like to be able to sit on a toilet without bad things happening ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 41; qc: 163; dbt: 0.276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb