Bumblebeetuna on the night train to Allahabad


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Allahabad
May 27th 2013
Published: May 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We've arrived in Allahabad, a site typically overlooked by tourists, but which should have some interesting sites once we get a little rest and the heat cools a little. We took another night train and this one had its own misadventures, well for Elisa anyways,poor thing. I slept through the night, unaware of some weirdo passenger, pacing the halls and sitting on her. I think the trip was redeemed though when I squeezed her into a tiny rickshaw for the ride to our hotel, good times.

I started to wonder about this town as we started to get closer and I looked out the window and every so often you just see some random dude taking a dump right along the track. it's just weird and random, and I swear this is the only phrase you can even think of when you see it: http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kC5Em4BIn-U

Anyways.....

Apparently my heart is still active as it broke a little yesterday when this street dog puppy was crying loudly in front of us. Street dogs are everywhere. They appear to be owned by no one and everyone at the same time. They dig through the garbage for something to eat and when one of the younger puppies wags his tail you want to pet him, but you don't because it is just too dangerous. You want to help a puppy! It broke my heart to see him limp away.

Oh and in mentioning the trash did I mention it is everywhere? I mean mounds of trash on every street everywhere. The feral dogs, cows and pigs love it and seem to survive off it. Over here they have brahman looking cows and the weirdest thing is I haven't seen a single cat since I've been here.



I think I'm rambling and I've attached a couple of random pics, will check in later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



27th May 2013

Hi!
I am LOVING reading about your adventures, Amber!! Miss you! Be safe!
27th May 2013

I hope...
You and little hadleigh are doing great!
27th May 2013
image

Penicillin
Trying to decide if I can see the mold on the bread or not. Breakfast of champions!
27th May 2013
image

I at most of the moldy bits....
So not much to see!
8th August 2013

Allahabad is great
Nice blog on my city. I run a hotel in Allahabad. If you are visiting the city do contact me. Regards, Dhananjay - Manager at Hotel in Allahabad

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb