vrindavan, agra, jaipur & holy pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
December 10th 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

incredible taj mahalincredible taj mahalincredible taj mahal

probably the most famous tourist-attraction of india - I didn't expect too much but have to admit that I was really impressed...
Because I wanted to be at a 10 day Vipassana-meditation course near Mumbai starting at the 20 of Dec., I had to schedule my way down through Rajasthan to Mumbai. Certainly not the way I like to travel normally, I booked my traintickets in Delhi giving me only a few days at some of the interesting destinations in the state of Rajasthan...
From Delhi I went south to Agra, having a short stop in Vrindavan - the capital of the Hare Krishna religion. Agra itself is an ugly and absolutely chaotic city, uninteresting if there wasn't the worldfamous Taj Mahal. I have heard different things about it and I probably wouldn't have visited it if it hasn't been exactly on my route. But I have to admit that I was really impressed... It's definetly worth visiting it!
Leaving Agra I entered Rajasthan where I spent the first 2 days in Jaipur, the capital of Rajasthan. Rajasthan is a state out of 1001 nights - where you expect Alladin around every corner...
From Jaipur I went to Pushkar for 2 days, a little holy village at a holy lake with hundreds of temples. Although it is quite touristic and the people at the lake are not always that holy, I enjoyed the first really easy and tranquil place I encountered in India. I would have stayed longer if I hadn't been on a schedule down to Mumbai...
Very remarkably in Pushkar was the meeting with 3 travelers of my hometown Dornbirn - one of them I recognized because I knew him from my teenager-times! Hello Austria!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0157s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb