Thanksgiving


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
November 22nd 2012
Published: November 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Two 8th Graders & MeTwo 8th Graders & MeTwo 8th Graders & Me

These are two of the 8th graders with whom I went birdwatching.
I walked into my 12th grade class today and my students had written the following on the board: "Happy Thanksgiving Miss Linn ! Thank you for: -Teaching us -Sharing your talent." It warmed my heart.

It didn't occur to me when I planned this trip how much I would miss Thanksgiving with my family. Here at SB, the American volunteers have had a lot of conversations about the gastronomical losses: no turkey, no stuffing, and certainly no green bean casserole. At least for me, this is a kind of façade. It is far easier to discuss the food that I'm missing than to discuss the overheated kitchen, the cat's chirps (she would love some of that turkey), the smell of applecrisp, the pile of still-cold jackets, and the Simon and Garfunkel playing in the background. And food is definitely an easier topic than discussing the laughter, the cribbage victories and losses, the warmth of being with so many people in such a small place, the hugs, and the security. No gifts to worry about. No decorations. Just a secure sense of "us."

But I've traded all of that in this year, for better or worse. I figured that since
Bounty from BangaloreBounty from BangaloreBounty from Bangalore

Sometimes, I am so grateful that I can reach for a good book (and nutella).
I'd be home (and recovered from jet-lag) in time to celebrate Christmas, I would have plenty of opportunity to enjoy my family and friends. But Thanksgiving is beautiful in its simplicity. I'm sure this is a claim that will make many-a-cook scoff. ("Have you ever tried to cook a whole turkey?" they may ask. To which I'd reply, "No, but I've tried to cook around a whole turkey." If you've ever been to a holiday in my mother's kitchen, you'd understand.) But, honestly, how often do we actively gather simply to give thanks for what we have? For me, at least, not often enough.

So, although (or maybe because) I am gathering with a new and different family this Thanksgiving, I wanted to share a list of things I am grateful for, both at home and here in India, and in no particular order.

1) My families: One night at dinner, upon asking how many siblings a girl had, she smiled and said, "I have a younger sister." I was about to ask the next child at the table when the girl continued, "And I have her and her and her and him..." as she pointed to each
The Flower and the BudThe Flower and the BudThe Flower and the Bud

Doesn't it look a bit like a pink porcupine?
child at the table. Then she looked at me, and smiled a wonderfully toothy grin. "And now I have you. All part of my Shanti Bhavan family." I love that attitude, and cannot help but think of how many different families have supported/adopted/tolerated me over the years. In case I don't say it enough: Friends, old and new, you mean the world to me.

2) Education: My own, my teacher's, and my students'. I lump this all together because, quite frankly, I'm grateful for our capacity and desire to learn and discover. I went birdwatching with the 8th-grade girls yesterday and was pleasantly surprised by how excited they were to stand at the edge of the lake (really just a pond right now) and look at egrets and ducks through binoculars. They were yelling, "Look! Look at that duck! It's so cool!" and I realized that, yes, ducks are cool, if you look at them closely enough. And, as we were walking, I noticed this georgeous set of crepuscular rays (those thin rays of light that looks a bit like a spotlight from God) and told the girls. Immediately, they were asking me what crepuscular means, and how to spell it. Throughout the rest of the walk they would occassionally check with me that they were saying it correctly. I am so thankful to not only constantly be learning, but to also be in a position where I can regularily engage the curiosity of the next generation.

3) Food: It has to be on here. Whether I am scooping up rice with my fingers and a piece of chapatti or I'm balancing salmon on the back of my fork, I am so glad to experience so many varieties of food. My horizons are ever-expanding: I used to be very wary of spicy foods, and now I eat it comfortably every day. I didn't have any idea what gobi manchurian or poori or real chutney was--all I knew was a sweet and sour mango chutney--but (look out, world!) I'm now determined to learn to make them, too. And that leads really well into:

4) Diversity: I didn't appreciate it much until now, but the world would be SO BORING if we didn't have such a diverse set of cultures. There's so much I didn't know I didn't know, like how there are trees with flowers that look like pink porcupines. Or, how male friends in India feel comfortable holding hands. Or, how the custard apple looks like something you put in your closets to keep moths away but is actually quite edible. And, while I'm on the note of diversity, I wanted to express my gratitude for how many wonderful ways there are to express oneself. Sure, I'm teaching the students choir and drama, but there's also the little things--new gestures and mannerisms that I am excited to add to my own repetoire. (Don't worry, there will be a more specific blog on this, coming soon.)

5) Technology: Some people, before I came here, told me that I was "brave" for doing this. I don't know how to quantify brave, but I can tell you that I am not nearly as brave as those people who travelled long distances before me. I'm lucky enough to have instant access to those I love through the internet. I'm also lucky to have a journey that lasts only slightly over 24 hours each way, and solar power on the path as I go back to my room every night. I'm lucky to be staying in a place where I can get water through plumbing even in my second-floor room. I'm lucky to have rickshaws and cars that can take me into Hosur and Bangalore every now and again to get supplies and a different sort of meal. I don't know what this says about me, but had these assurances not been in place, I doubt I would have chosen to come here. So, I'm thankful for them because they have afforded me the opportunity to experience India.

There's much more I could write, but the list could go on for cyber-miles (yes, I made that up). So, suffice it to say that I am so thankful for each and every one of you, and I wish you all the happiest of Thanksgivings.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb