Mamallapuram - Internet cafe


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Mamallapuram
January 21st 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mamallpuram is beautiful little coastal village 60km away from Chennai. It is famous for its ancient rock carvings.

Took a taxi from Chennai airport and arrived in Mamallpuram at midnight. Tamil music was blearing out of the taxi. My first impression of the south: humid, different language, less hassles and nicer smells.

Wandered aimlessly around the village looking for a place to stay but the guesthouses were either closed or charged "tired-dirty-western" rates, no thank you.

Eventually I stumbled across a young man who was sleeping in an internet cafe, so I joined him. Slept underneath a computer, clutching my belongings, wrapped around a mosquitoe neat while being eaten alive by the brave, I must have tasty blood. After the best sleep of my life the helpful young man showed me into my room where I slept for a very long time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb