In Between 3 Worlds


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Kanyakumari
March 10th 2013
Published: March 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Rain in KanyakumariRain in KanyakumariRain in Kanyakumari

The early morning walk to Kanyakumari Temple
I stood still mesmerizing the Indian Ocean, on my right is the Arabian Sea; turning to the left is the Bengal Bay. I felt great and happy to be in a place where the ocean, the sea and the bay collided together at this very point where I stood. Winds of change that gave me such thrill and not sure exactly which direction of wind came from. Felt the cold waters over my feet, coarse sand that kept overlapping onto my feet, in between my toes, each time the waves charges towards me and at this moment I asked to myself, when was the last time I had such fun at the beach.

Despite the drizzle, people still throng to this place for a splash, a dip in, children got excited over the waves on icy waters. Bargaining over sarees, clothes and seashells, scattered open fish market, while the fishermen awaiting good sales on this lovely beach of Kanyakumari. Kanyakumari is named after a Goddess literally meant The Virgin Goddess, there is a temple of Kanyakumari, and where the uniqueness of this statue is that there is a big diamond placed on her nose. The British Royal took the other.
The walls of KanyakumariThe walls of KanyakumariThe walls of Kanyakumari

towards the sea and mahatma gandhi's mousaleum
Devotees queue for hours just to pray and pay respect to her. I went in too.

There nearby is the Mahatma Gandhi’s Mousoleum. A huge pink building with moghul minarets consists of his photos and stories during his time as a prime minister. Across the mainland, there are two small islands; one could see from afar the statue of Vivekananda which is an island stood majestic but a concrete of lonely four walls. On one island, where visitors are not allowed, whilst the other has a main hall, a temple, bookshops and a meditation hall for those who wants to meditate for awhile. Only ten minutes. One can have a good view of Kanyakumari town, the thousands wind turbines across the island, a church, ferry boats busily their bouts from mainland port to this island. I am a bit astounded by the fact that a small town of Kanyakumari, situated at the Southern tip of India, isolated from big cities, still undeveloped that could fetched such good tourism in this part of India. Watching all these, people were friendly. Well ! not always.

The great wonders of the wind, the waters and the rain did made me feel great. A cozy place for a holiday to reckon with. Highly recommended. I just can't imagined I am actually in Kanyakumari, the tip of Southern of India and the three worlds.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Vivekananda StatueVivekananda Statue
Vivekananda Statue

a ten minute ferry ride.
mahatma gandhi's mousaleummahatma gandhi's mousaleum
mahatma gandhi's mousaleum

mahatma's burial ground
Tip of South IndiaTip of South India
Tip of South India

Standing at the very tip of Kanyakumari, the southern tip of India. Behind me is Indian Ocean, on the right is Arabian Sea, on the left is Bengal Bay.


10th March 2013
Rain in Kanyakumari

This shot is awesome!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb