Landed and heading on our way


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

MUMBAIIIIIIIIII

The flight was on time and we arrived exactly on time as well which was really good. The plane was well nice and they fed you and even had a choice of 60+ movies on there as well. Didn’t really watch anything but couldn’t get to seep either!

Took ages for the bags to arrive but then the taxi straight to the gateway of idea was an eye opener for Leah I have to say. Massive pothole’s and dodging people was what most of it was all about!!!!

The sun seemed to have only just come out and the humidity was sooooo bad that we both were sweating loads even before we got out the Taxi. We were dropped of by the Gateway to India and headed for the Seashore hotel. We were stopped about a dozen times by other people trying to get you into their hotel or sell you what can only be described as a massive giant condom that they have inflated!!!! But you can get it in a variety of colours and the more you by the cheaper they are!!!!

Arriving at the hotel we only made it to the India Guest house which was below the original one we were looking for and at a bargain price of 500 rups – the double room was quite clean and spacious and with an outside bathroom and toilet which had recently been refurbished – couldn’t say no!

Had a quick look round and headed for Leapolds for a quick drink and then to a corner place down the same road, which was quality music and great artwork on the walls. We managed to sit next to the only drunk man in Mumbai I believe and he was merrily singing along with the heavily accented India vocals – did make us smile!!!

We headed off to bed as were quite tired but then realized that it was only 7pm but we thought it best to just get a good nights sleep as we hadn’t done much during the last 24hrs!
After having a quick read of the new lonely planet book we turned in for the night. I feel fast asleep and I think all the excitement had get the better of Leah and she lay awake until she heard her tablet bottle being shaken in the corner of the room. Quickly waking me up and saying that there was someone in the corner of the room – and after me turning on the light to revel that it was the food menu blowing against the side of the wall by the fan, did make us both smile!!!!

We went to Elephanta island to see the temples and had to get the boat across and on our return journey we managed to get soaked by all the splash back from the from of the boat as the wind has picked up during the day.

Had a 16hr bus ride to Udiapur which was not the best I have to say. It took nearly 4 hrs to get our of Mumbai as there was loads of traffic and building like you wouldn’t believe! I managed to full asleep but I don’t think that Leah was able to get anything out of it really!!!! We are both still quite tired but after arriving here and settling into a great hotel overlooking the lake – we are both much happier being out of the hustle and bustle of Mumbai and feeling like we are real travelers now!

We have had a quick look round and headed back to the room for a little bit of a rest as the sun is just so so hot and is making us extra tired. My tan is coming along quite nicely but I think Leah has just got more freckles to be honest!!! I wish I had bought my fishing rod as I could see fish all afternoon from the room and I know that they would have been easy to catch!!!!!! 

We are just off to have a bit of dinner and watch a Octopusy which they show in every place here as it featured one of the palaces that are on the lake! I am going to get a really hot curry I think and go all out to spend as much money as I can…… so I think about 3 quid should cover both me and Leah – O how I love the Indian prices!!!!

Staying here for a few days just to get to grips with the heat and the non stop sellers! But I do love it really xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb