Tiger, trains & temples


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Valentines day we transferred by private jeep to Ranthambhore National Park which is famous for its tigers. For three hours in the afternoon we were bumped around in a big safari bus & saw Samba deer, blue bulls, Indian Gazelles, meercats, monkeys, kingfishers, trepies and what we were told was a leopard but looked distinctly like a spotted rock to me.... but no tigers. The next morning me and two others from our group got up at 5am to have another try, an hour in we saw one, he was walking in front of the truck for a couple of minutes and at one point was about 5m away from me, awesome, utterly awesome!
Since then our group has continued to travel through a diverse combination of palaces lakes & castles by train bus rickshaw tuktuk and jeep. One of the best journeys was by local train. Within ten minutes Niels (a nice Danish fella) & I were entertaining half a carriage load of children, through the course of the 2 hour trip we did every trick, game and general amusement we could think of; the shoulder thing was a particular favorite. I took a packet of balloons on the trip and some of the kids had never even seem one before let alone felt the effects of static. The Indians as a people are friendly relaxed forthcoming and very pleasant company, while I’m looking forward to continuing my trip I’m in no hurry to go.
I’m currently in Pushkar which is hippie central, I’ve never seen such a concentration of baggy clothes and dreadlocks, I look a tad out of place wandering round in a checked cotton farmers shirt. It’s a holy city so no alcohol meat or eggs - bugger, on the plus side its full of stunning temples lining the holy lake.
Will write again soon!!!



Advertisement



19th February 2006

Do you do children's parties?
Will, good to hear you're having a great time. I'm pleased you're enjoying your Intrepid tour as much as I did! Anna and I got back from skiing last night and are both very tired indeed, though we had a fantastic trip. Keep on visiting those temples and I hope you get your hands on a beer soon. Rich PS Don't go hippy on us.
21st February 2006

Dude, your trip sounds amazing - glad you are well and having fun. I think dreadlocks would be a good look for you! Take care xxx
22nd February 2006

Looking forward to seeing you.
Hey Will, Great to hear that you are enjoying your travels. I'll log in again to get an update! We are looking forward to seeing you when you get to Melbourne. We are expecting you on April 1st - so watch out we may have a few tricks up our sleeves!!?? until the 4th? You can stay for as long as you want, however these are the dates you gave me when we managed to catch up on the phone!! I can pick you up from the airport on the sat am; so tell me the flight no- doesn't it arrive at 9.30? Any thoughts on what you would like to see/do?? Love Your old bag of a godmother!!

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb