Ashram Life in India by Aiden


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pali
March 5th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Namaste (Hello). We came here by plane. We arrived in Delhi and went to a big mosque and some rickshaw rides around the city. I like the Gandhiji Museum a lot. There was a spinning wheel that Callum and I had a play with. Gandhiji wrote a lot about truth, love and how animals are scared just before they are killed We tried to see the Red Fort but we couldn’t get in.

I now live in India at Jadan Ashram. There are four dogs here. Two stay behind our building called the White House. The dogs are are called Cher and Chita. The other two are at the OM Ashram which is another part still being built. It is a big building that will be in the shape of a massive OM. At the Ashram I have a good friend called Avatar Puri. We ride around the Ashram on the bikes. A few days ago he got hit with a cricket bat and got 1 stitch above his eye. Yesterday we were having a race and I stubbed my toe really bad. There is lots of flesh hanging out and I have to wear a covering on it. It’s hard to wear thongs now.

My school is pretty good. It is a 10 minute slow walk from here. There are 40 children in my class. I have a really mean teacher I call Mr Nose-Hairs. He has lots of nose hairs hanging out. He whacks people when they get English spelling wrong. My other teachers are OK. My favourite one is my Sanskrit and Computer Teacher. Dad brings us hot lunch each day on the bike from the Ashram.

I go to the Library when I can but it’s been closed for a week now while the High School kids have exams. I’ve nearly read all the English books there so Mum said when I learn Hindi I can start on the Hindi books! I said it’s going to take a while so today Mum ordered me a heap of books off an Indian booksite. I can’t wait until they get here. I bought a great Calvin and Hobbes book in Delhi, I really like the bookshops there. I’ve read the comic book at least 100 times now. I’m not sure about the surprise books Mum got in the order but soon I’ll have the Adventures of Doctor Dolittle and Pippilongstocking. The Sorceress which I’m hanging out for isn’t printed until May. For now I've borrowed some books from the people staying here and Avatar always lends me some.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb