On route to Mt. Abu


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Mount Abu
December 15th 2010
Published: December 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

December 15, 2010 – Ambaji Temple (Gujarat) / Mt. Abu

Yamini Wrote:

Feeling a little sad to leave Udaipur this morning. Wish we had one more day to explore this incredible gem of a city.

We met our driver, Ashfaq, at 9:30 to begin our onward journey to Ambaji Temple and Mt. Abu. As this was the first time we were on our own without a guide and only the driver, it gave us a chance to get to know our driver better. Although I think he can speak English, he doesn’t seem too comfortable speaking it. Fortunately, we do understand Hindi and can reasonably speak it, so we are fine with communication. He tells us he lives in Delhi with his wife of 2 years and has a four month old, son. He seems very nice and most importantly, I feel very safe with his driving capability.

Shivani and Tejas slept most of the way on our drive to Ambaji Temple. Shivani seemed to be a little under the weather today. The Ambaji Temple is located in Gujarat and a little off route to Mt. Abu but we were told by many friends, that we should visit this temple if we had a chance. We arrived at Ambaji around noon and did the usual of taking off our shoes and handing them over to someone who would then put it into a cubby and give us a token. We proceeded towards the temple and a young man comes to us and tells us to go over and get items for pooja. Little did I know he was a sales rep, but we needed to get these items, anyways, so we gladly purchased our offerings for prayer. We then stood in line to get in. While in line, Shivani didn’t look too well. Unfortunately, she could not hold it in. Sam and Shivani left the line as Tejas and I proceeded to enter the temple. I felt a little rushed in here as there was a lineup and worshippers were being pushy. As I had Tejas hang on to me tight, we did our prayers and passed on our offerings to be blessed. I wish I had been a little more focused, but my mind was also on Shivani and how she was. I must say that this was another beautiful temple with incredible carved marble work. Once Tejas and I came out, we saw Shivani and Sam sitting on a bench with smiles and Chandan on their foreheads. I was happy to learn that after Shivani and Sam had to leave the lineup, they ended up getting the VIP treatment and got up front to do their prayers even before we did. Sure glad they didn’t miss out. Feeling much better now, we proceeded past the vendors and found the perfect Naag (cobra) for our Shivlinga.

We then continued our journey to Mt. Abu. During the drive, I decided to catch up typing my journal entries. I think that was a mistake, as I got motion sickness. Not once, but twice I had to make the driver stop! I wonder what the driver thought of me….I know the kids had a good laugh.

I was sure glad I was sitting directly behind the driver so I could avoid seeing all the oncoming vehicles. Thank goodness our driver is an exceptional driver!

We arrive at Mt. Abu. Mt. Abu is a breath of fresh air. It is the state of Rajasthan’s only hill station and lies close to the border of Gujarat. It is a popular getaway destination for many Gujarati families and a hit for honeymooners.

As we arrive at our hotel, Bikaner House, we meet our Mt. Abu tour guide, Dalpat Singh Rathore, who greets us and lets us know we will meet him the next morning for a tour. This heritage hotel is beautiful. A very spacious room with multiple seating areas. After we settle in, we head down to Nakki Lake. I am looking forward to hearing Sam reminisce about his childhood in Mt. Abu.

Nakki Lake is the town’s focus and one of its biggest attractions. Legend has it that this lake was scooped out with the nails (nakh) of a sadhu (saint) thus many Hindus believe it to be a holy lake. Today you see many pedal boats (shaped like swans) in the lake. We take a pleasant stroll around the entire lake stopping at all the little shrines along the way, particularly the Hanuman shrine where we stop to recite the Hanuman Chalisa. There are many strange rock formations along the way, especially one known as Toad Rock. It looks like a toad about to jump into the lake!

We complete our walk around the entire lake and head back to our hotel for dinner and sleep.



Sam Wrote:

It truly was sad leaving Udaipur.

The road to Ambaji was mostly 4 lane and we made good time. Traffic was not heavy but on a few sections we came across oncoming traffic in our lane. This freaked me out but the driver advised it was due to rock slides ahead.

Our first stop was at Ambaji Temple which is located a few miles into the state of Gujarat.

On route, Shivani complained of not feeling well. Unfortunately, after standing in line for over 15 minutes, she could not hold it in anymore. I opted to take her out and asked Yamini and Tejas to finish the darshan without us. I took Shiv out of the line and after she calmed down, found a seat under a shade by the Temple exit. While waiting for Yamini & Tejas, one of the armed guards indicated that Shiv & I could re-enter the temple from the back door. I have no idea why he said we could but I am sure glad he did. Thus Shivani and I got to do darshan as well without waiting in line. Once again, our luck holds true.

On a side note, I would like to thank the kind gentleman from England standing in line behind us when Shivani threw-up. He is truly a caring soul.

After Ambaji, the road up Mt. Abu was something else altogether. I think if there was a place on the side, we would have walked. It is a curvy 29 km section of road that is not wide enough for 2 cars let alone tour buses and trucks. On top of that you add young male drivers fuelled on testosterone and you have the makings of a wild ride. A couple of times I thought we were going to be hit by an oncoming vehicle and our driver tried to assure me that if that were to happen – no big deal. You carry on. Apparently they do not have ICBC here.

Our arrival at Mt. Abu was a disappointment for me. Forty years ago, this place was a tranquil hill station. Now, the town center is a bustling bazar with people hawking their ware to the countless local tourists. Thankfully our hotel was on the other part of the mountain that was not as much developed.

The hotel itself, Bikaner House, is a Heritage Hotel. That is a fancy way of saying it was a palatial home once upon a time and now it is transformed into a hotel. Our room was large and comfortable. The hotel itself was fully booked with tourists from Gujarat.

After checking in, we promptly grabbed a local taxi and head out to the center of town – Nakki Lake. I am sorry to say, I could hardly reconcile with what the town is now compared to when I went to school here. We walked around the lake, visited a few shops and headed back to the hotel.

Back at the hotel, we hear that they have a buffet dinner laid out for all the guests. When we inquire if we can order something special, they give us vague answers. After a while they ask what we would like instead of the buffet – we request Kadhi & khichri. Both Yamini and Shivani had a tough day and I felt this would help them feel better. The kitchen staff said it would take them an hour to prepare our meal. We agreed and then sat in the lounge where we discovered a carrom board (Indian game). We all had a great time playing and joking. The dinner also was good. We felt much better.



Tejas Dictated:

Today’s title for the day is: The Blaah Day.

Both, my sister and my mother got sick. My sister threw-up at the temple while standing in line and my dad had to take her out while my mom and I went in without them.

I got pushed and shoved in the mandir. Boy, some people have no manners.

When we got out, we saw my dad and sister sitting on a bench smiling. When I asked them why they were smiling, they explained they got to go in from the back door and got to do all the puja without having to stand in line. Not fair!

When we were driving up to Mt Abu, I got scarred a little because we were so high up and the road was very narrow. Before we got up to the top, my mom had to puke because of motion sickness.



Shivani Wrote:

Today was a so-so day. I was feeling a little sick in the morning, and that sickness carried on for the entire day.

On the way to Mount Abu, we visited Ambaji. In Ambajji there is a Mataji Mandir. There was a long line up, and I was feeling sick. I was worried. When we were in the line up I THREW UP☹

Later we drove to Mount Abu! On our first day we just walked around. When we were walking around we went to a Bazaar. So neat!!!!!

After we walked around, we took a Jeep back! There was a big group of Gujarati’s at the same Hotel.

The Hotel was serving Buffet at the restaurant for dinner, but the items that were there didn’t match our likings. So we asked for Khadi-Khichri. They said, because they were serving buffet, that we would have to wait an hour, for our requested meal. While we were waiting we ordered drinks, and played Carrom Board. Once the Khadi was ready, everybody was starving. The Khadi was very good.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb