Cathedrals, Cake & the Equator


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
February 15th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I forgot to mention that in India, I did end up going to mass at St. Thomas Cathedral. Afterwards, we hiked St. Thomas mountain where Thomas was murdered. I’m glad I had the experience, but I would never recommend hiking a mountain in 100 degree weather!

We’ve been getting back into the swing of things on the boat. There has been a break out of GI (basically people getting sick) and the boat is currently Code Red. That means a certain percent of passengers have been put into quarantine & if the number gets larger we won’t be able to dock in the Seychelles. I’ve managed to avoid this round of sickness…thank goodness.

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day. At dinner we had an enormous amount of desserts, so most of us just ate cake and ice cream for dinner. There was a dance after dinner so we all got dressed up and danced the night away. In the middle of the dance, an older couple (staff members) got on stage and announced they are getting married on the boat March 10! They sent out an email today explaining that we are all invited and the captain will marry them at sunset! A wedding will be so much fun & it’s a perfect excuse for me to buy a pretty dress in South Africa!

We also crossed the equator today! It’s my first time ever in the southern hemisphere! We are having a celebration tomorrow…the details are hush hush so I’m not sure exactly what will be happening…

School work is getting intense. I have a case study due tomorrow and two presentations and two midterms between the Seychelles and South Africa. My entire time in the Seychelles will be spent at an internet café doing research. I think we dock Sunday at 8am and are due back on the boat Monday at 8pm. It will be a nice little break from class and boat life.

My plans for South Africa are shaping up. I have an AFP and then I’m planning some exciting things for the days after…however, I cannot reveal my plans until they are complete!

That’s all the news from here! It is hot hot hot and I’m looking forward to 36 hours off this boat!


Advertisement



15th February 2008

intrigue
Well, you have my attention. What are your plans for South Africa????? And stay away from anyone who's sick!
15th February 2008

Valentines Day
A belated Happy Valentines Day to you, Megan! I love reading your blog and looking at all your pictures. FYI ... We are holding our winter Alumni Council meeting this weekend ... I could sure use your help! ;)

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb