t-139days If you're planning on going to India...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
August 30th 2005
Published: November 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So if you're planning on going to India here is my checklist of what i'm going to need before I leave.

1. 2 Passport photos (for visa)
2. Tourist Visa
3. Travel Insurance
4. Vaccinations
5. India rail pass
6. digital camera gizmos
7. At least one set of india appropriate travelling clothes (the last thing I want to do is stick out like a sour thumb at the airport)
8. combination lock (for room doors, apparently the ones we have are better then the ones you can buy there)
9. Backpackers backpack with locks and cable to connect it to your seat in over night train rides
10. "Culture Shock India" an amazing book that gives you enough background on India that you wouldn't feel like an fool (hopefully)
11. light cotton socks
12. Yoga clothes and Sticky matt.

Things that I've been told not to bring

1. toiletries (apparently the ones in India are great)
2. jeans (it's normally too hot to wear them and the western styles are too tight for india)
3. Sleeping bag(apparently a light blanket works just as well and is easier to carry)
4. anything sleeveless or short (draw too much unwanted attention and creates bad impressions)
5. more then a couple outfits (you can buy more culturally appropriate clothes there for cheap)

Cultural tidbits I've picked up in my reseach

1. NEVER pass food or eat with your left hand, it is the hand used for toilet use and is considered unsanitary
2. if you're driving hit anything else but DON'T HIT THE COWS
3. Air Deccan is a good discount airline for flying around India

I'm sure I'll be adding to this list more, especially when I'm actually IN India, but I hope the fruits of my research are helpful.

A quick update on my getting into crazy shape, so far I'm still only doing yoga and I had another muffin yesterday but I'm going to do my yoga studio's 30 day challenge so hopefully that helps.

Advertisement



30th October 2005

FOOL! It's "a flying coffin"!!!!
ANDIE- remember what I said. Air Deccan is no good. cheap, yes, but good... It's sketchy at best! Remember over there airlines don't have to disclose all airline related "problems", so what you hear isn't all of it. pay the extra money... PLEASE!!!! p.s. mary-beth is cool

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb