Off to Mysore


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
August 26th 2005
Published: August 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


t-143 days to mysore

I don't remember the last time I have been this excited. I bought my plane ticket two days ago and have been doing endless research on India. I leave on January 16th 2006 and arrive in Delhi on the 17th. I met a man who owns clothing store on the block where I work and he's asked his family in Delhi to meet me at the airport. Needless to say in a place as big as Delhi it is nice to know that someone will be expecting me.

I'm going to Mysore as a gift from my father in order to celebrate my improvement in health. I'll be studying to become a yoga teacher and yoga therapy with Shri Jayakumar for between four and six months, depending on how I like it. My clases begin on February 6th which gives me a little under three weeks to get from Delhi to Mysore. My plan thus far is to spend a couple days in Delhi seeing the temples, then go to Agra and see the Taj Mahal. From there I think that I'll head to Mumbai (Bombay) then to Goa and finally on to Mysore. When my course is over I'll be heading back up to Delhi in order to meet one or two of my friends from Vancouver and travel with for an undefined amount of time.
http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_7u.html

I've been studying various forms of Yoga for close to four years now, I started with Bikrams and then moved to Ashtanga. I've been studying Ashtanga on and off for a little over a year and am very nervous that my practice wouldn't be advanced enough for Mysore standards. This basically means that I've got 143 days to whip myself into shape. I already practice 20+ times a month but have decided to include running and swimming to my weekly routines. Also I have to take a serious look at my diet. I am a huge advocate of eating organic foods, both for the health reasons and the sustanability reason, but I must admit that my daily coffee and muffins at work are a bit of a weakness for me. That's why I've started this blog now, so you may follow this yogi's preparation for Mysore.

Advertisement



30th October 2005

Is it true- is she really a godess among mortals?
and by 'one or two' of your friends you mean possibly some person who means nothing in comparison to the great and wounderous legendary Mary-Beth that I've heard will be accompanying you... tell me more of this wounderous creature.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb