McLeod Ganj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay. Last day in Delhi was bizarre. Someone from the travel agency came to get us from the hotel. We went there not knowing why, sitting in the lobby, confused, for a long time. In retrospect I guess they just wanted us to be in their presense for the prospect of more money from us? or to meet other travelers? After sitting there, waiting for someone that wanted to see us, who never came out, we got invited to have lunch with one of the guys and a girl from Denmark.

At this point we've been to three different agencies and we've met the whole crew. They're all friends, and they love to tell you to go to Kashmir, to go to Leh for treking, to stay on a house boat, etc. Though these guys are very friendly, we later realized some other people were pushing the same thing on Natalie's friend. The girl from Denmark has been in India for 4 months traveling around, and she's gotten very close to these guys. Four of us went out for lunch, Natalie, myself, Elaina, and Ali. They tried to get us to stay an extra day in Delhi so we could go to their "big delhi gypsy party" saying we wouldn't have to pay anything more to change our bus tickets...but we declined. Good thing, because we got over charged, almost by three times...they're so smoothe.
But we've learned so much.
On the subway, we were packed in, knowing about being groped I was very cautious, Elaina got grabbed, but I escaped.
On the subway home there was a very friendly old man talking to Natalie, people are very forward here, but this guy if there was only one, was sincere, at the end he asked Natalie if she wanted his address, to come stay with his family, it was sweet.

We get to the bus stop and we end up seeing Natalie's two friends that we were going to meet in McLeod Ganj, they were getting on the same exact bus! It worked out lovely. That's how we found out we paid too much. They paid 300Rs and we paid 800Rs. That's about $7 versus about $20. And we had the very last back seats of the bus, no air, 14 hours....
I cannot begin to explain the ride to you. We were constantly flying in the air, the whole drive seemed to be a dirt road, Natalie called it a "driveway" which made me laugh. It started raining at one point and I was seriously afraid we were going to tip over. I would fall asleep and wake up to flying in the air and my head crashing into a metal bar on the window....haha...I have a bump and bruise now.

Taking that bus ride shows me how well I can do with the lack of comfort, and the opposite, complete chaos, it was an adventure. The places we stopped for breaks are indescribable. Some of it reminds me of Mexico. One strange thing, at any time day or night, there are people on the streets with a table, boiling milk to make chai, all the time. It looks like some makeshift lab on the side of the street. Better than soda machines, I'd say.
One stop had a cute pet monkey with people hanging out at their shrine of sorts, everything seems so random and magical. Cows are everywhere.
So, we finally made it into the mountains and after a few hours we made it to Mcleod Ganj. A breathtaking green mountain village, Tibetan village, where the Dali Lama lives. I love it here. The people are so friendly, and beautiful, a true complement of life vibrating all around us. It's a very conscious community. We're staying at the Green Hotel, where there is an organic vegetarian restaurant, the food is wonderful and for usually about a dollar or two a meal. The room is about $2 a night, very very minimal, shared bathroom with a squat toilet, and cold showers. I got sick a bit yesterday which was a ceremonial experience with me and the squat. Oh boy.
We're heading to the Tibetan medicine and astrological Institute today, the Tibetan library, we have a big lists of places to take Dharma classes, meditation, cooking, etc. etc. I love it here!
It's very hard for me to write this blog, there's always so much to write, which takes away from feeling I can write creatively. Maybe things will slow down... I wish everyone was here by my side experiencing this as well, and all words would fade as we stood in awe, together.
Much to share!!

Advertisement



18th June 2007

Travels
Hey Jessica, Your mom emailed me you blog, and I am very glad she did. I will be reading every single one of your entries. It amazes me that someone your age is doing this, it is just something beyond anything I would have ever even considered doing. Keep it up, and good luck, we'll all be following your journey.
18th June 2007

I am there
Jessica, as I read your blogs I do feel as though I am right there with you. Keep it up, loving every time I see you have written. xoxoxo
19th June 2007

Greetings from KY
Jessica: what an amazing young woman you are! I will continue to follow your travels and pray for your safety. Leslie

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb