the blue city of rajasthan - jodhpur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
December 18th 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

mehrangarh fort mehrangarh fort mehrangarh fort

rajasthan is the state of the many fortresses - the mehrangarh fort is an impressive example
Last stop in Rajasthan was Jodhpur - also called the blue city because of its many blue buildings in the old part of the town. A smaller but busy city with an amazing fortress - the Mehrangarh fort. The fort is still owned by a Maharaja - those emperors who used to rule Rajasthan in earlier times...
In Jodhpur I met 2 very sympathic norwegians in my hostal, Didrik and Fuscha from Oslo, and we spent two days together exploring the fortress and spending time stroling around in the colourful market of Jodhpur. Trying tea and spices, having good Thalis and nice talks...
At the last day - I couldn't believe it - another amazing contact with Austria happened. Finishing a Skype-call in an internet-cafe with a friend in my hometown, a guy sitting there asks me if I am from Dornbirn (my hometown) because of the dialect I just spoke during my call. We went for a drink and found out that he studied in my hometown, that he knew my brother and that we have another couple of common friends. His name is Hannes - and not enough - he later met the other friends from Dornbirn I have met in Pushkar - at another place in Rajasthan. Tiny little world indeed...

You can find his funny travelstories here:
www.johannesleitner.at (German)




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb