camel safari


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
July 20th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

These last three days I have come to understand the true meaning of heat. This four lettered word is grossly inadequate to describe what we went through in the Thar desert. The hottest day on the beach in Cape town at the height of summer, does not come close. Perhaps the reason for this is that in the desert there is nowhere to escape to. The shade means blow all and water is rationed. At one point I actually though of standing under a camel while it was pissing ( they pass tremendous amount of urine - how that preserves moisture I am at a loss but maybe the rarity of anything in fluid form made me hyperacute to anything resembling water )

I liked the camel, easier to control and just more of a placid beast than its equestrian counterpart.
The mornings were the worst and made my alcohol hangovers in my student days seem like a mild headache by comparison.
It is soooooooooo difficult to get up.

Our guides were pleasant and very helpful and followed us all the time on their own camel, laughing and speaking in Rajastani. I am quite sure they were laughing at my riding technique as I most probably resembled a flailing marionette with a nervous disposition.
Never mind my thighs, my entire body was hurting.

I have given up all hope on my paranoia and even in the middle of the Thar desert I still kept my passport under my pillow.

till later
Rob
Ps check picture gallery

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb