preparation for camel trip


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tommorrow the big day, our excursion into the desert on a camel. I am trying real hard not to be the pessimist.....but I know that the next three days will not be a disney desert sunset. Stubborm smelly camels, flies, relentless heat,warm water, heat stroke and dehydration are more like up my alley.
Spent the day preparing and I have begrudgingly spent money on light cotton long pants and long sleeved shirt and a hat made out of camel skin ( how tactful ! ) My heavy denim shirt and blue polyester tracksuit pants I think I would have died in.

The indian food here is very good amd I am feeling a little more secure as I asked the camel tour organizer to write that I am allergic to peanuts in Hindi. So in every restaurant I show the waiter my precious note and put my hands around my neck, all the while making choking sounds. Although not the epitomy of a cool and hardy traveller --- it may save my life.
Up to now I suspect I may have been eating food cooked in peanut oil. The protein responsible for the reaction is denatured during the oil making process and heating and no longer binds to the mast cell receptors because it loses its configuration..... and whoila !! no reaction.
However that is an assumption I am not willing to put my head on the block for so my food will be cooked in mustard oil from now.

Anyway no more entries for 3 days and I promise I am working on the pictures. It is not a simple matter here, can't just plug in and play.
Will make a plan when we return from the trek !!

Regards
Rob





Advertisement



20th July 2006

Nice entry
Loved your blog! had been to jaisalmer. Is definitely a nice place to visit.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb