arrived in Jaisalmer


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Jaisalmer today after a sweaty journey by bus -- hung over from the heat and having missed breakfast ( we departed Bikaner at 530am ) I arrived in the fort not least impressed by the horde of Tuk Tuk drivers that assaulted us. Very difficult to collect ones thoughts, watch ones pockets and luggage and manage to haggle a decent price.
Settled on 20 rupees and paid 60 for the detour..... one can't win here.

I must say of all the destinations Mumbai, Jaipur, mandawa and Bikaner this is the most impressive and cheapest accomodation we have come across at Simla Hotel.
On a whim we decided to stay for a week. The streets are somewhat less busy and the fort is more of a maze of alleyways littered with shops, restaurants, hotels etc.
The usual assortment of cows, dogs, donkeys etc lounge around everywhere -- thusfar except for our arrival we have not as yet been adopted by a guide....thank God -- they are quite bothersome but really difficult to tell them to fuck off like one can liberally do back home ---- these guys are just so friendly and genuinely want to help , at a price of course.

I am looking forward to suppertime, it is so hot here I usually just have breakfast and supper -- the indian dishes are delicious and with emilia as the taster and my adrenalin on hand I cautiously eat.
Always making sure there is a provate hospital nearby as I know an errant peanut will turn my trip into a most unpleasant end.

Anyway will add photos as soon as I figure out how to download them.
Regards rob

PS i am sure emilia will add her lengthy essays quite soon.
Rob

Advertisement



14th July 2006

food test
HI Rob and Emelia.....glad you are having a great time/// Rob at least wait 45 min after Emelia did the food tasting....if she is OK still ...you will be. TERENCE.....HOW I ENVY YOU!!!! I CAN DO WITHOUT THE HEAT,THOUGH
14th July 2006

Hi Rob, Thanks for pointing me to the right place. AT last. Be carefull with this shit. You just scared me. They add nuts to everything. I don't envy you. Had enough of that "guides" and beggars on every turn. Next time maybe Acapulco...tfu tfu...Chiccanos can be a pain too. Maybe Balito.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb