JAISELMER - camel country


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
April 25th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A city that grew from the desert sand.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Michael JacksonMichael Jackson
Michael Jackson

this is my Camel and He was the coolest camel in the whole of Rajastan....what a great smile he has!
View from my hotelView from my hotel
View from my hotel

this is from the fort looking out to the city.
catherine, Kay Kay and mecatherine, Kay Kay and me
catherine, Kay Kay and me

Catherine and the Prince of Jaiselmer seeing me off to Delhi.
Bul Bul and meBul Bul and me
Bul Bul and me

we were both looking out at the film shoot happening outside. they had been at it since 5am! Bul Bul comes from Gujurat and sung like an angel!
Bollywood next doorBollywood next door
Bollywood next door

As seen from the dining room of my hotel (The Surya, which I highly recommend for delightful rooms service and views)
the kids at Kay Kay's villagethe kids at Kay Kay's village
the kids at Kay Kay's village

we made a quick stop here to say heloo to Kay Kay's family before picking up the camels from theneighbouring Raika village
raika womanraika woman
raika woman

I was super excited at being able to visit a Raika village after having read Robin davidson's "Desert Places" where she followed the Raika's nomadic journey for several months in the desert.
Kay Kay's fatherKay Kay's father
Kay Kay's father

this is Kay Kay\'s father holding the youngest of his 9 children of which Kay Kay is the eldest.
Vilal and NababVilal and Nabab
Vilal and Nabab

Our camel drivers on approach to the dunes
crazy for Camelscrazy for Camels
crazy for Camels

I love Camels!!!!


4th May 2006

Smile
Wish our alpacas could smile like this camel

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb