Jaisalmer - The Golden City


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
November 13th 2008
Published: October 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Jaisalmer!

I have only been travelling for a brief time and have noticed that things seem to change very quickly whilst on the road. I left the relative comfort of Vinayek's guesthouse in Bikaner, with a slightly sad goodbye to Annett and Klaus and headed off on the lowest class of sleeper train to Jaisalmer!

The train itself was a dusty beast and once again, I opted for the top of the 3 tiers so I could hide away in my own space. There is one vital problem with this that is exasperbated by various other factors - you never really have a clue when you arrive at your destination! There are no announcements for stations the trains are seemingly always late AND it's 5-6 in the fecking morning. Finally getting off the train and actually realising that I was in the correct place was a pretty special moment for me.

This guesthouse is nice and boasts a hot(!) shower, hoping it works, because washing out of a bucket with cold water for 12 days has been a bit of a drag! I can see the Jaisalmer fort from my balcony (yup, got one of them too!), its a pretty epic building, though unfortunately one of the most endangered in the world. This is because it's built from sandstone and people use too much water, which has led to parts of it collapsing around the sewers. Hoping they're not just saying this in a sly attempt to presuade me not to use the shower...

Have emailed the Germans as they will be arriving here tomorrow and I seriously doubt I will be moving anywhere for a few days if a certain orifice continues to pretend it's a waterfall in flood season.

Anywho, I shall laze and read in the sun and perhaps venture over the road for some food later (well cooked please). Apparently it is a roof restaurant that overlooks the fort, doesn't sound too shabby!

Mock any Chelsea fans you see in the street today and pretend Liverpool didn't lose to the stupid Spurs again, and that hereford united are fighting for promotion - its allll good if you squint and pretend it is!

One last thing, my valiant effort of a travel beard met its demise today. It's fair to say i cannot grow a beard - sad times, sob.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

GeniusGenius
Genius

All floors in the floor palace are at a slant so the water can drain throughout the whole building into the store in the basement - not a drop wasted in the desert.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb