It's been a month!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey folks, this is a short entry, but I'd just like to commemorate a major anniversary. It's been a month since I left the U.S., and it will be two months from today that I board a plane in Delhi to head home. I'm only a third of the way through my trip, but I can say that this will be one of the more formative experiences of my life. Brian and I both agree that no matter how hard our lives may seem to us in the U.S., we must always be grateful for the basic things we take for granted: a bed, constantly available water and power, a sit toilet and shower, A/C. And we must remember that aside from not having what we consider to be basic comforts, there are so many in India whose basic needs aren't being met: food, clean water, a place to sleep.

This last month in India has been one of the most challenging experiences of my life, but, as Karen likes to remind me, you can tell how much fun (I don't think that's the appropriate word here, but I can't find a more fitting one) you had by how much it hurts later (or how big of a mess you've made). I've noticed with India that while I'm here I'm always wishing I were somewhere else, and as soon as I get on the plane to get home, I know I'll be planning for when I can next come back. For now I'm going to focus on enjoying India now, while I'm here. No one has ever said that travelling in India is easy, but it can be extremely rewarding, and I'm looking forward to what the next two months will bring. And I'm sure before I know it, I'll be getting on that plane in Delhi, and I'll already be anticipating my next trip.

Advertisement



23rd June 2006

One month
Wow, what an experience (far beyond most college freshman--and I'm very glad you have Brian and, periodically, other friends, to share it with you and to help you out). It is great to try and appreciate where you are at the moment that you are there--we all spend too much time anticipating the next place, step, event so we don't even see our surroundings. Soak in India. Love, Mina

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb