It's the weekend again!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
June 10th 2006
Published: June 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I had a request to say more about my work, and this entry is devoted to that. I think it apt, since it is 11:00 on a Saturday morning, and here I am, at my office. I work from 10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. every day but Sunday. I have been told that I can get the occasional Saturday off, but Brian also has to work on Saturdays, so there's not much point. I have realized that right now my job is a glorified data entry position. I spent the first part of the week taking more than 350 photos of some sixty items which are going on the website, despite my protests that I am by no means a professional photographer. Then, I had to create an inventory database, which I finished a few days ago (this included descriptions of products, size, weight, ect.). Then, because my boss was out of the office for two days, I did nothing while waiting for prices from him on each item. I'm finally just about ready to upload the site, except I can't get anyone to tell me how shipping works here, so I can't create the shipping part of the site. So I end up spending most of my day surfing the web pointlessly....which is more entertaining than staring at a wall, so I shouldn't complain. The icing on the job-related cake, however, is that for all this, I'm getting paid US$140 a month. Yeah. On the other hand, that's more than enough to live in India on, and it's generally the going rate for someone with some college but no degree.

In other news, I got a cell phone yesterday. Just having it makes me feel so much better. I can use it to call home, which is nice because then I don't have to trek down to the STD/ISD booth (STD stands for standard trunk dialing, folks....get your minds out of the gutter), and it aleviates some of the isolation I was feeling here. And the good news is, I've almost reached the three week mark. Really, time is going by much quicker than I thought it would. So I think my time in India will be fine. I was feeling as though it was too long, and I still think three months is pushing it a little, but I'll be able to handle it. The last three weeks, Brian and I are just going to travel around north India, so that will be fun. I've just got to get through seven more weeks of work. And really, in the scheme of things, seven weeks is nothing. 😊

Advertisement



10th June 2006

That's really fast!
Wow, Jenn, you're getting a lot done in not very much time! From what you described in your blog about how many pictures you've taken and posted along with descriptions and creating a database, I can only tell you that I have known of many situations here in business where getting that stuff done has taken a year! You're no doubt making them very happy with your work! I will try to send you a care package asap if you will send a shipping address. I say 'try' because I don't know how long it will take or whether there are rules about shipping certain foods to India. Let me know what you'd like me to put in it . . . It sounds like you are having a wonderful adventure. Remember the three corrolaries of how you can tell how much fun you had: how much it hurts later, how big a mess you made, and what good stories you can tell. Keep up the good work. We are really proud of you!--K
12th June 2006

i'm glad things are looking up and that it doesn't feel like its going to be as bad as you thought it was going to be. haha you make me feel so unproductive with all your workingness. i miss you jen.
12th June 2006

hey!
Hi Jen--I've been reading the blogs, but just haven't had the time to reply--we've been in Mexico. It all sounds very interesting and a very good life experience. Yep, it would be hard to move in with someone else's parents, esp. from a different culture--hows the move to new digs going? WE NEED MORE PICTURES!!!! We miss you and love you. Take Care, M P.S. Taking the month of August to travel sounds ideal...

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb