Bollywood Movie Night!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
November 8th 2005
Published: November 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello..

We stopped at an old royal Palace on the way to Jaipur, it was amazing..The fort was just as intricate and huge as the others. There was this huge old pool that they obviously do not use anymore, but this kid kept jumping off the wall into the rank dirty water for rupees.. not sure who was paying him.. He was so young and just silly... There was also a Huge Mosque that really was a market selling any crap a tourist might be interested in...

We also went to Amber Fort which is by far the best fort so far (theres a lot more to come) haha.. But it was great. The railings and screens are all carverd marble about 1.5 inches thick, just beautiful.. really amazing. There was a wall of fortifications all around the fort area on the hill, it stretched for kilometers.... the walk up took a while as it is on the top of a hill. Lazy people could rent elephants and take those up.. it was crazy. We also went to the palace in the old part of town and some other tourist attractions, but by 3 PM a few of us were done, ditched the tour, went to the market and then hit the one bar we had found there. It was actually pretty cool. The bar was on a rooftop, we had an awesome view of the shennanigans that go on on the streets.. Oh and it was in Jaipur that our rickshaw driver got a fine for having 4 of us in the rickshaw... we were stunned... with all the other driving insanity that goes on here, we could not believe it. Also, the cop let us go after the ticket.. all four of us still.. crazy country I tell you.

We then went to a Bollywood movie. I have NEVER seen insanity like this. First of all there is a line for men and a line for women to buy tickets. Our guide asked me to stand in the womans line. I hardly moved and once the tickets were sold out, there was security everywhere scattering people.. crazy. We ended up buying scalped tickets.. YES to a movie.. Again our guide suggested the movie would be better with rum.. haha, and we all had a pepsi to take with us... The movie was nuts.. People talk all the way through, its all in Indian, except the odd sentence,. yes sentence, not word..in English... It was the worst movie I have ever seen and I WAS drinking the rum. I left with one of the people on my tour before intermission ever started.. and we had been in there watching for an hour.. Crazy... crazy country I tell you!!!!

Tami

Advertisement



21st November 2005

I am wondering if I was too late with my request for a little piece of the Taj Mahal . . . . I am guessing that it is probably not going to happen as I have received all the emails leading up to the Agra trip and the post Agra trip all in the same morning . . . unless we are operating under a time continium that compresses our time . . .. . hmmmmm . . .. I think it is not happening . .. . oh well . . . back to living my travel life thru you . . . very exciting stuff
21st November 2005

Another alcoholic guide???
I can't believe there is another alcoholic guide! He has taken my trick of offering alcohol to enjoy a tour/film better! I bet the weather was better on my tour though ;)

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1006s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb