The search continues...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
November 12th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunday; a day of rest, spent in the hotel sleeping, reading, sunbathing (fully clothed) up on the roof terrace and drinking lemon, ginger and honey tea.

Monday started with a good omen, whilst drinking my coffee a little bird dropped an offering on my trousers. With luck on my side I set off back in to the heart of Jaipur and spent the day rummaging the gems and silver shops and factories. It’s a lengthy process as you check out all the merchandise and hours fly by so quickly, the rumble of my tum indicating that its time to find some food!

Tuesday - I think I used up all my luck on Monday, the next day was a different story, after a random search for one of the beautiful block printed quilts which was not successful, I ripped my new trousers, the bus reservation office hung up on me, my bank card was blocked (thank god for mums!), my mobile had no reception and I had to wait for hours in the post office which was undergoing a total refurbishment and they had decided that today was the day for sanding down the walls; I coughed and sneezed my way to the counter with my efficiently sewn up parcel.

I gave up and decided to go and explore the Observatory only to be advised on arrival that it was closing for the day along with all the other sites! Good things always comes along if you look hard enough and I found the best ever ice-cream shop quite randomly, I was searching out a place to top up my phone and was advised that the shop ‘next door’ would do it, rather dubious at first as it was an ice-cream parlour; ah but so much more as I was to discover watching other customers come in, he revealed all sort of items, a mini Harrods. It took a while but hey I wasn’t complaining I got a sample of all the ice-creams (Jaina IceCream Parlour, Shop no 90, MI Road).

Wednesday was my last day in Jaipur and I think I was ready to move on, my throat was worse and the constant cry for attention and pollution was getting to me. In fact for the first time I lost my temper, three times the auto driver took me to the wrong place and would not let me explain, so I jumped out without saying a word and started walking, he kept following me shouting I was mad, eventually I popped and threw some scrunched up Rupees on his seat. Not my finest moment and not all his fault, a cumulation of tension and illness. He did apologise but I walked on, back to my ice-cream parlour where the nice man sat me down and gave me some sweeties - we’re all children at heart. Composing myself, I picked up my samples and a CYCLE rickshaw back to the hotel to pack and get ready for my bus ride in the afternoon.

Jaipur was hard work, a great adventure, I’ve learnt so much but I feel sapped of energy. I’ll definitely be back and next time make it to the Palace, Observatory and more but for now I’m looking forward to a few days rest in the quiet medieval town of Bundi (6ish hours drive SE), which promises a tranquil retreat that exudes original charm and traditional character.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb