Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bikaner
March 5th 2012
Published: March 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Monday 05 March 18.00


As I finish in the internet a man next to me has Indiamike.com on the screen (the site a lot of people use for info about Trains etc. etc.) I say you a member. Yes he replies and I tell him me too. His screen name is Vinobhojak and he local and gives a lot of info to members about Rajasthan. We chat for a while and we go over the main road for a chai. I tell him that I am leaving tonight and I need something to eat. Eat here he says as its good food like at home, no touristy food here plain cooking. He ordered me a thalhi rice – 2 mild curry things a dal yoghurt based something and a papad (a popodom) and chapattis 50 rups a bargain as they keep filling the plate. They fill the plate until you stop he says all same price. We talk about all things India and other stuff, family always comes up I tell about mine and he about his to me. He says his son has a shoe shop and we will go there to see him. He has a set of keys but I presume that we will walk too busy for a car – FOOL says Mr. T It’s a Hero Honda motorbike. I tighten the daybag and climb on the back. Awesome we shoot off up the main street. I wish I had the courage to go one handed and get the camera out on video but it’s better to stay on board. The traffic is as crazy on a bike as on foot and we swerve in and out. I get some startled looks and come alongside a rick with a family on board they look amazed as they stare at the lesser spotted pot bellied bald scouser , I had by photo taken on mobile phones god knows how many times. We pull off the street into a very smell alleyway hang on he says (I was believe me) very small lane no tourists come because there is no commission for anyone the price here is the price. The lane is so tight that we have to pull over to let another bike pass and of course the horn and flashing headlight is on the go constantly. His son has just left the shop a neighbor tells Thomo. I will take you back to the hotel ha says the manager is a good friend of mine, we will go for a beer help you sleep on the train. Back through the night traffic as we pass the station the traffic is madness, that’s your train just come in from Jodhpur he says. We go get the Manager of the hotel and back on the bike to the bar shoot pass the security guard over the ramp down into the underground car park.

We stay there for a couple of hours and drink Kingfisher as we talk about all sorts but mainly about Bikaner tourism as Vinod is heavily involved in promoting tourism in the area. It’s time to go to the train; he pays for the beer as he did with the food. I am his guest in Bikaner and I can buy him a beer on my return. He drops me back at the hotel to collect my bag and bids me farewell.

A great end to a great day.




But it’s not over yet!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb