en francais


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Pondicherry
May 2nd 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

oep a bakkes!oep a bakkes!oep a bakkes!

This was our last evening together. The guys bought a lovely with wine to celebrate their stay in India... no, it wasn't an indian wine, rather a french one.
Pondicherry is a French colony at the eastcoast of India. It is a journey of 2 hours by "express"bus from Mahabalipuram...On my own I would never travel by night, but in compagny of two strong boys, I felt really save. We arrived in pondicherry around 9pm, negotiated with some Riksjadrivers for a "good price" to bring us to a hostel. In two riksjas ( me and Donna had even some very fancy loud music in our "car") in a race to the hostel we arrived safely. Joris and I checked the room ( and the price) and a couple of minutes later we were settled in in a fourbedroom with AC (!) and television... A nice dinner let us forget the hard busride and it didn't take that long to travel to dreamland...

Pondicherry is not the long hangout place, and there isn't that much to see, but still it has a particular atmosphere. Once a French colony, you can still feel and see some spots of French imperialism... the funny red caps of the cops, streetnames in Rue de francais, villas and chansons de piano in the streets... It's nice place, but not real Indian.

We ended our stay here in really European style with a bottle of nice French wine ( thanks boys for this divine gift), delicious pizza and an irresistable dessert of fruitsalad with icecream... Oh, I really miss my bourgondian style of enjoying meals...
we made a last stop in a nice artpub to have a final beer together, although Joris was only joining us in dreams... ( but I still own you this beer once I'm back in Belgium)

The next stop for me and Donna will be Bangelore ... The boys will make their way to Trichy. I have to say goodbye to Joris and Wouter and wish them a great Indian experience. Good luck boys, and see you once again in Belgium! It was great to see you again Joris... ( merciekes voor't nagelborstelke en de chocolatjes)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Oh, divine wine!Oh, divine wine!
Oh, divine wine!

never tasted a wine so pure and good as this one! My first glass of wine since I left Kovalam, three months ago. Thanks Joris and Wouter...


Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 14; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb