Deewali celebrations


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 21st 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oh what a do!

Afzal's house was in full preparation when I returned, having dodged a number of firecrackers along the way. All hands were on deck - cleaning the terrace, preparing the food, lighting candles and sprinkling out floral designs, by the front door, with coloured flour. This wards off the evil spirits and welcomes in the goddess of wealth - I was sprinkling furiously.

We all got dressed into our finery, and Afzal talked me through her beautiful collections of saris - all colours, fine materials, and patterns from over the years - there really is a sari for all celebrations and considering August is the only month in India without some kind of do - there were a fair few. I feel very lucky to have met Afzal, she has been so kind and informative - a wonderful person.

We were joined by Afzel's son, Kai, his wife and parents, plus Marta - the Spanish costume jeweller and Jeremy a retired English business man over learning Hindi. The food was amazing, meat (I think it must be goat), dhal, rice, chapatis, peas, cauliflower/ potatoe and coconut okra (15 years after chopping a huge vat of them in Israel - I'm finally over my okra hate - they weren't slimy at all), and a myriad of sweets: a condensed milk fan heaven (umm Jess/ Kate!). I've have been eating with my fingers but in such polite company, I was not sure that my technique was quite up to standard so stuck with the fork - it's actually very easy but you have to watch out for the hot dishes and using your left hand.

It was an evening of fun with sparklers and fire crackers up on the roof terrace, and fireworks in the sky - little thought given to health and safety. We also had cherry brand which I think had be in the cupboard for a while but hey I love benilyn! and straight vodka - the Indian's like their strong spirits - whisky and vodka being the favourites and there are chain of shops dotted around the place called the "Godfather - English wine shop" - and I reckon the quality maybe that of English wine!

Kai drove us 'odd bods' to see Parliament as we thought it might be lit up, but it wasn't more than usual, still it was lovely to see Delhi so peaceful considering the normal hustle and bustle that I experienced first hand the next day....

As the house was full, I was staying as Afzal's guest; and Afzal, Radhika (her maid) and I all slept in her room - an Indian sleepover. One's bedroom is very much a public domain in India and more like a sitting room - I rather like the concept as it uses the room.

I went to sleep listening to the fireworks exploding overhead, dreaming of Indian minatures.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb