A roller coaster ride...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 21st 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I'm getting into my groove now.

I spent a lovely afternoon with a friend of Afzal's on Thursday (she knows so many people!!) - Priya, who is a jeweller, designs contemporary Indian jewels in silver/ gold plated - very few designers actually make - that's see as the low end of the trade... and it's amazing you travel half way around the world but the problems are the same - " how do you stop the plating peeling of a headpin when you gimp it!".

Then onto an illegal (I found out later!) wholesale gem supplier - Priya drops me off outside a normal looking Delhi house, I ring the bell, and walk in up the stairs..... It was quite an experience, the front room was just filled with bags of different jewels, crates of gems, people milling about on the floor doing deals and I just stood in the middle and said "hello". But the performance soon began, chit chatting back and forth with the dealer, working our way through the rubbish to the good stuff and finally I am shown some amazing gems, I hadn't expected to buy anyting as it was really just a scouting trip for Jaipur, and there were no real bargins but it was a good starting point for comparison and I left without anything but filled with confidence of the possibilities.

Yesterday got even better, except for one low - I got caught in the "look madame.... poo on my shoe" trick in the subway, still the eau de vile stench kept a few touts away and I was soon exploring the Government Emporiums - please note I do intend to visit some of Delhi's historical sights, temples, forts etc but have been advised to do so after the festivals because of bomb threats* and obviously I have my priorities! Anyway while I was there I had the good luck to meet another wholesale gem dealer, who was in his shop because of the festival. I was dubious at first but once the Hatton Garden contacts had been discussed and I had viewed the loops and certificates, he seemed genuine to me. We spent the afternoon working our way through his gem colelction and I learnt so much - the more you see stones the easier it is to distinguish them - Rubies, Emeralds and so much more - my eyes were sparkling.

I've also realised that you sometimes you have to go with your instincts, cast aside your sceptiscism and trust people here otherwise I am going to miss out on so much. Having said that I will upload some photos but only just feeling comfortable enough to take the camera out of my bag and I hate looking like a tourist.

I've bought my ticket for Amritsar - city of the Golden Temple, after much confusion first, I almost fell for the " Tourist office is shut for Deewali" and went elsewhere but wised up when he started saying "Listen girl" in a derogatory tone. It's amazing the lengths they go to - this was set up before I even entered the station - so clever - but thank goodness I have been watching spooks! So I will head north on Monday.

I'm off home now to Afzal's for the celebrations - her family and various other odd bods, like me, are getting together.

Take care and happy deewali to all
Lorna
xxx


*Mum I am fine and being sensible


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb