Oh Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
April 26th 2013
Published: April 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bag, me and baby makes threeBag, me and baby makes threeBag, me and baby makes three

This is what I wear outside when it's 100 and humid as shit. I look happy because I'm still in my air conditioned room...
I'm not sure how long I've been here, a few days perhaps. My traveling schedule disrupted my sleep schedule and I'm very backwards. My room doesn't have windows to the outdoors (but yes, it has windows to the INDOORS) so to see any natural light I have to venture from the safety of my pea pod room to the back alleys of New Delhi--because that is where my hotel is. It is off an alley, but most of New Delhi is that way so mom, don't be alarmed.

My arrival was less than stellar, I blame the 25+ hours of flying and airport meandering mixed with some incompetency by the hotel driver who supposedly had a sign with my name on it. After standing around for 45 minutes, outside where it was 90 degrees no less! (Okay, my fault, once you left the baggage area to go outside, you were not allowed to go back in--I even asked the nice guard with a machine gun if it was possible, he didn't look amused and certainly didn't care that I didn't have a ride). A few Indian women in yellow saris called me over and told me to sit and put my backpack down and then I told them my woes, they just encourage me to take a taxi and get to my hotel, so I did it.

Driving in India is unlike the other places I have been. It is terrifying--like the other places, but there is an additional reckless abandon to it. Inches from cars on the left and a median to the right the taxi driver is still going strong. It's quite incredible actually. All the while, his eyes are glued in the rear view mirror chatting me up! I have close to no idea what he is saying but I picked up something about Chicken Marsala and Gandhi. Arriving at the hotel finally I find out I'm being ripped off and paying twice what I should be, I argue and find it to be no use. I pay and exit having learned a valuable lesson. Walk into the hotel and get yelled at by the man there because his people are still at the airport (at this point I landed 2 hours prior and if they're still there...what the hell is wrong with them?!) and he is saying all I had to do was call to let them know I was there. I told him I didn't have a phone and we argued about it for a few moments and I finally said, "What did you want me to call them with?! My shoe?!" I thought it was witty...I don't think he got it. Anyways, got to my room and here I have been. I ventured across the street for some breakfast at some point, but that's hardly an outing.

So today, finally. I gathered my courage (along with my guidebook, leatherman, and headphones) and hit the streets--err, alleyway and made way to the train station to buy a ticket for Agra (home of the Taj Majal and other majestic structures I am told) and I tell you, it's a mess out there...first, it's 100 and humid and I'm wearing a long skirt, cardigan to cover arms and a scarf. I am miserable and sweating like a ogre. I have read this will cut down on the amount of attention you get from men...Liars!! Well, perhaps it does but I sure got my fair share. I wear the headphones to give me an excuse to ignore but in turn the men just ignore the headphones. Funny little dance we do. I must have said 'no' a hundred times on the 15 minute walk to the train station. It didn't matter what they said, "NO" was my response. Best part of the walk was seeing a cow in the alleyway, just getting a drink of water. Naturally. But I made it to the train station, managed to find the Tourist Bureau (despite the best efforts of others telling me to go to the wrong ticket counters, despite the fact I asked no one) got my ticket and I'm outta here tomorrow! WOO! On the way back I stopped at a nice little rooftop cafe and ate some Indian food, or something like that. I have little to no idea what it was but it was good in my belly. We'll see how well it sits with Baby before I declare it a success. Finally returned to my room where I shed my sweat soaked ensemble and b-lined it for the "shower." It's a foot long hose that comes out of the wall at about waist level. But damn...cold water has never felt so good. Now it's time for bed--but just a nap this time. I slept the day away yesterday and can't afford to keep doing that! Tomorrow Agra, hoping it will be a little less Delhi like...but not holding my breath.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb