Smells like India!


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

So it's 3.30pm, I've had a nice sleep since arriving, and almost melted from the heat so far. Still haven't got around to changing my watch yet! Best do that soon!
Here's what I wrote in my journal when I arrived:
After about an hours' sleep in total, a few movies and some pleasant conversation with the guy from Croydon sat nex t to me, I arrived in India. Only 8 and a half hours after I left, but it was well into the morning already.
Despite leaving the airport by the wrong gate, and having a bit of a panic that no one appeared to be collecting me, I left the airport safely with the driver, and had an interesting drive to the guest house. I'm sure I will get used to the traffic system- choose one of the 3 or 4 lanes, and move around wherever you like... (and I thought the English motorway was confusing enough!!) My favourite part was seeing two auto rickshaws (3 wheeled, open sided vehicles) pootling along in one lane, side by side, with the drivers evidently having a conversation! Also while we were queuing to get out of the airport, some young men were selling model replicas of aeroplanes, and not having much luck doing so!
I also saw what looked like a horse and carriage, apart from it was being pulled by a cow! This made me smile 😊
I am not staying in the guest house alone, an Asha volunteer is here, with some friends from London who are leaving today, so she will be back later- which I am quite glad about, the driver and maid speak very little english and I felt quite bad earlier when I couldn't understand what they were saying, especially as I was half asleep at the time!
Hopefully I'll get a good night's sleep tonight, as I am going to Asha tomorrow to meet people and probably be shown around.
I can't quite describe the smell of India, or the heat for that matter, but I know that my 6 weeks is going to be filled with new experiences, and they have definitely already begun! Thanks everyone for all your support, looking on Facebook and seeing all your comments made me feel a lot better about everything, and my drinking water has now arrived!
I will try and keep you all regularly updated 😊
Adios for now!

Advertisement



3rd June 2011

Well done
Well done Ruth - we shall continue to pray for you that all with go well. Stay safe - be careful what you eat and drink - if its still moving in the pot then turn up the gas a bit!
3rd June 2011

Wow xxx
Glad you got there safe , have fun and make lots of new friends xxx

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb