My favorite shop


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
March 7th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Milk ManMilk ManMilk Man

This is Tigers absolute favorite shop
Rene was very tired today so Ojo and I just grabbed the camera and we sneeked out of the hotel room on our own.

It was quite late at night, but there was so much life on the street here in pahar ganj. It was a little bit like in italy, but with more people and more cows on the street.

It was quite dark on the road, but tigers and bears can see well in the dark. So that was no problem for us. Then we followed our noses. There were lots of beautiful smells in the air. It smelled like chicken, fresh baked bread, fruits, incence and then I just grabbed Ojo and ran.

There was the smell of fresh hot milk. Yummy!

Now that was really great. There was a biiiig bowl full of fresh milk. There was a big wooden fire burning under it. Slowly, slowly the milk started sizzeling. A big wooden spoon was used to stir the pool of milk. I think I was drooling all over. Then the milk was taken out with smaller pots and cooled down by pouring it from one pot to another. Finally it ended up
Sweet ManSweet ManSweet Man

This is Ojos absolute favorite shop
in a silver cup. And much quicker the milk ended up in my stomach. This was so lovely. Ojo said, I was all white around my mouth. Hehehe, I bet I was. Now this was probably the best milk I ever had.

Ojo found another shop that made some sweets. A big pot of hot oil was cooking on the fire. Then a dough was put in it in a funny shape. Have a look at the picture I took. It looked a bit like a brezel. But it was so sweet. Ojo ate so much of it, I really had to drag him away.

We ended up at a shop, that fried chicken. I know it looked a bit like rabbit. But to all of our bunny friends at home: Indians dont eat Bunnies and neither do we, we promised.

Acually we dont eat chicken at the moment either. It is because of the bird flu here in India. I dont quite know, what that is, but rene says it can make you very sick. So no chicken at the moment either.

But that is not much of a problem with all the yummy things
Fry ManFry ManFry Man

No Bunnys! I swear!
here on the market. We found a shop that is selling french fries, or sort of. They call potatoes aloo here. It sounds a bit like baloo, which means bear, so I can keep the word easier in mind. And a owner is called a walla. So on the last picture you can see a aloo walla. He really made delicious fries. Very jummy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Aloo ManAloo Man
Aloo Man

They call potatoes aloo here. Still they taste the same.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb