Arriving in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
December 27th 2005
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

India. The highways and streets were quiet at our 12pm arrival. I expected there to be elephants along the roads and beggars on the streets. Instead, it was a quiet, empty drive to Karol Bagh.

Our current driver Sanjay is already teaching us Hindi. Namaste ji! The hotel was a surprise. We thought we would have a nice luxury hotel for our first night, after 17 hours of flying. The Hotel Good Palace is nice enough, but it feels very foreign. Example: there are no towels. Also, no hot water. The toilet is western but has both the tap-water for washing and toilet paper. Then there is the shower, which gets very little water and no hot water. There is a bucket and a cup for washing. I’m not sure if I’ll be showering at all. I know that western-style showers use more water, and water is a precious resort in India. However, I’m stuck in my ways and I fear I do not know how to change. That’s why I’m here, right - for a challenge. I don’t think I’m leaping up to meet it like I should be.

Overall and in comparison to others, we are having a very good trip so far. Nothing horrible has happened.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb