First Day In Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
December 6th 2005
Published: December 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi from Delhi;

I arrived at my hotel at 3am last night, tired, but not really that jet lagged. I took some anti jet lag pills and they seem to have worked well - I travelled half way around the world, and I was able to get up after only 6 hours of sleep. Now I've been touring around town all day in an autorickshaw, its 615pm, and I am not yet tired.

So I left the hotel around 930, and started walking. I did this in Paris and it worked well, but here it sucked. The drivers here are crazy by North American standards, but it seems to work well for them. A lane here doesn't mean one car, it means as many as can sort of fit in the lines, if you feel like it. Anyways, I walked for maybe 45 minutes, around Connaught Place, which is where my hotel is.

Speaking of my hotel!! I got off of the plane at Indira Ghandi International and entered a strange world - dirty, but considering 16 million people live here, not that dirty. I was picked up by someone from my hotel in a sort of SUV/van, and it was a 35 minute drive to the hotel. The airport didn't seem to have a highway serving it, just an odd road, with lots of construction. The hotel is in the middle circle of Connaught place, down a small alley. There are only 5 rooms, and mine has its own bathroom (which means a pink plastic toilet, a sink, and running cold and luke-warm water). I washed out my clothes, hung them to dry and went to bed. The bed is a double, but only has a blanket. I was actually cold last night, probably because my room opens to the alleyway to permit a tree to grow through my room...!!! There is also a tv, which I'll try tonight.

This morning at around 930 am I went out, and the people from my room offered me a free Delhi map - thinking that was a good idea I accepted. I was promptly taken to a tourist office, where they tried to sell me a tour of Rajastan for a small fortune - no thanks!! Then I left and walked around the town, and finally got in my first autorickshaw. My driver, Suno, seemed very nice, and I agreed that he could take me around all day, for about $20.

I went to an India resteraunt and ate chapaties and drank a lassis (yoghurt and milk drink). Then we went to India Gate, and the parliament buildings. Both were very impressive, and I also saw monkeys and a snake charmer. On the way a homeless lady tried to beg for money, walking right out in the street to beg. Even with people crossing the street randomly, and all of the crazy drivers, I have yet to see a single accident.

After India Gate, went to to Himayun's Tomb, a majestic building and the precurser to the Taj Mahal! Hopefully I will upload pictures here in the next few days (this computer is a little dodgy). I walked around there for a bit and took some great pictures.

Suno then took me to a craft emporium, basically a tourist trap, and I bought a salwar kameez, a tee shirt and a scarf. Then I had dinner in an Indian resteraunt and came here!

So, at this point I find Delhi interesting, but I can't tell if I love it or don't....it is dirty and noisy and crowded, but facinating and friendly. A very weird combination. There are so many things that are different than at home...

I'll let you know how I feel after a few days of this!!

Namaste! Eileen

Advertisement



6th December 2005

So excited for you!
Wow - hard to believe that you're half a world away! I'm glad you made it safe and sound and that you're enjoying the strange but wonderful surroundings! I'm somewhat jealous...because its been so long sinve I've been on an adventure like that. On the other hand though Dale and Gill and I put up the tree the other night so I'm enjoying sipping egg nog nightly watching the lights!! Be safe - can't wait for more updates! Love Jen

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb