Impress Me


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

At Cafe Morrison
I went to sleep with a cold last night and woke up not feeling much better. I'm sorry that every time I write in here I'm either sick or in recovery. I did have a great weekend. Though I was off of work on Saturday, I stayed in Delhi to explore some things at home. I went to a house party on Saturday night in GK. The house was amazing. It was owned by a woman in the fashion industry who spends half of her time in New York. There were lots of great Indian dishes and some fun punjabi music. I met a lot of really interesting people. Most people out here are launching brands and are really eager to talk about it. There were fashion designers, club owners, and other ambitious business entrepreneurs. They throw around words like "industry party" every five minutes. It is definitely a new world for me, and I'm extra curious because its India and I'm struggling to grasp the lifestyles out here. Everytime I think I get it, and I'm 'oneofthem,' I'm introduced to a new group of people who live life completely differently.
Yesterday, our new friends invited Maelle, Noelle, and me to a pool party at the Park Hotel so I had to buy a swimsuit. The power went out in the dressing room and I was kind of stuck fishing around for my blue jeans for a few minutes.
The pool was gorgeous, refreshing, and best of all- free. I played a game of volleyball and Noelle and I shared an overpriced pizza at the bar. A fashion designer drove us home and invited us to one of his shows in August.
My wallet was stolen on Thursday (did I mention that already?) so I have to start a new collection of business cards. I'm really disappointed about that. It's been rough waiting on my new credit/debit cards to come in the mail, but Ravi, Maelle's landlord, has loaned me 7000 rupees in the meanwhile. He even let me use his business phone to call my credit card companies because my pre-paid phone charges me excessively. I am so glad that I have good friends here to help me out in situations like that. I have found some of the best people in the world in India.
Even at work, everyone has been really helpful with me. I have my first presentation this week on launching a Restaurant Blog for India's first Chinese chain, YO!China. A restaurant blog! Even I'm lost on this one. The CEO studied in the US so thats added pressure. He also wants us to come up with Mobile PR. He's very, very ambitous. A young guy, Obama supporter. Anyway, I'm extremely stressed about it and hope it goes well. Wish me luck!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb