Live Music - Delhi Style


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm attending a concert tonight with a Canadian girl who's doing an internship at the High Commission. It's Sufi music, which I'm told is classical for this region. The group is from Pakistan and most of the people I've spoken with have told me it should be a good time. I have to rush over there after work though, and then leave early to view an apartment in GK2. I'm definitely keeping my options open on this apartment search. While I love the family I'm staying with, some of the accomodations are a bit hard for me to get used to, but we'll see how that goes. Looking for roommates has also given me an opportunity to meet some friends, so I don't mind the search.
This weekend I went out with Mahreen, the Canadian girl and some of her friends who are also working at the Embassy for the summer. We had dinner at Lodhi Gardens, a really beautiful restaurant with great music and special order mango mojitos. We had a good time, talking about our experiences being here. Some of the girls had parents who were diplomats and have lived in Delhi for the long-term. It was nice because
Sufi Music PerformersSufi Music PerformersSufi Music Performers

Wish I could have gotten closer - but I had to leave early. Was a beautiful performance!
they had drivers arranged so we didn't have to feel unsafe in an Auto at night or wait around for a taxi. Since we had the drivers, we went out after dinner to go dancing at this club called RPM. It reminded me of some of the clubs back home in Chicago, except the Djs here were all smoking hookah.
I've been sleeping late into the mornings and rushing downstairs to have quick breakfasts with the girls. Prashant and his sister took me to a brand new mall, Select City, on Sunday. On the way, I saw some really cool merchant stands so we stopped to have a look. I bought a cool hanging wall statue of Durga, the goddess of power for only 50 rupees, which is less than $2. Then I bought a small wooden statue of Saraswati, the symbol for music and philosophy (if i'm getting these names wrong, blame wikipedia.) Anyway, it was a good time.
I'm doing a lot of work right now. My boss has me reading the entire portolio booklet on our new client to get some press materials out of it. I know so much about priyagold now I could write a book on them myself. Though I suppose this will be beneficial if and when I get to meet with the directors. So I need to get back to work and stop daydreaming about the Cubs victory over Sox... wish I were there!


Advertisement



26th June 2008

What an adventure!
Rachel, Your International PR classmates and I are enjoying following you on your adventures in India. You've certainly met a lot of people and experienced so much of the Indian culture in the short time that you've been there. I look forward to having you share your experience with students in next year's class.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb