I Arrive in India...Delhi!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My Airport Pick-UpMy Airport Pick-UpMy Airport Pick-Up

My flight got delayed two hours but somehow he wound up waiting at the airport for me for four hours, which meant he had to immediately chain smoke 4 cigarettes when we got into his car.
So I am finally in India and India it is! Delhi has exceeded all of my expectations and much more. It is a very overwhelming city. There are cars everywhere, all of which refuse to recognize driving lanes, or pedestrians for that matter. Every time I step into the street, whether it be to simply cross it or get into an auto-rickshaw, I know that death is a distinct possibility.
There's so much to say, I'm not sure that I can get it all down. Everything here is unbelievably cheap so that it makes me feel like a rock star. And, as you could have guessed, I'm eating the best Indian food of my life, although they have quite good American and other international cuisines too. The city is horribly polluted making it difficult to breath at times and there is trash littered everywhere.
It seems there are two kinds of Indians. Those who wish to part me with my money and those who are genuinely interested in just having a conversation over some tea. More and more, I get asked to pose in pictures with people. It was flattering at first, but now its verging on obnoxious.
Major's Den!Major's Den!Major's Den!

This was my home away from home in Delhi. This humble backpacker's retreat is run by a man who calls himself Major (pictured). Major served in the Indian Army for thirty years and is just bursting with stories. In fact, its kind of hard to get him to shut up, but his graciousness was greatly appreciated.
People want to know my "good" name and what my parents do.
Here is a link to a video I shot while walking in Delhi: http://youtube.com/watch?v=HhV_u8XHCGI


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Hallway CricketHallway Cricket
Hallway Cricket

When the staff got bored they played cricket right outside my room.
My Delhi CrewMy Delhi Crew
My Delhi Crew

I was fortunate enough to be neighbors with these two fellow Americans, Aaron from San Fransisco and Cory from Arizona. Together we grabbed the beast that is Delhi by the horns.
ParaganjParaganj
Paraganj

This was the area where I stayed in Delhi.


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb