Day 2 - Arrive in Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Karol Bagh
July 21st 2014
Published: August 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 - Delhi

I safely at about 10am India time. Flight and pick up both went smoothly. I had an interesting transfer ride from Delhi airport to the, 'Hotel Perfect', with two other girls who are bound for the same trip. Emily & Zoe are both from the London area. Good start!

The driver gave us a running commentary on the current festival that is building up. We passed a topless car carrying two people who were representing Lord Savva and his bride. There were constant streams of people dressed in orange carrying really colourful, and dressed water carriers. They take water from the Ganges to offer to The Lord and his bride. For this the people will have their wishes granted. Eg be successful, have children etc.

The hotel is quite nice, basic, but ok. I had a shower, got sorted the sat in the lobby a while. I then met Emily & Abbie. We chatted for a while then decided to go out and have a look where we are! We are situated very near a huge market. Everything is really colourful. There are lots of beggars in the streets. I am eyeing up the shoes already!

We stopped off for a sandwich and a drink. Very safe choices for now! My lime and soda was really weird, very salty! But I drank it as I considered that the amount if sweating I am doing already, that salt will need replacing!

Tonight we met our CEO, Ankur, AKA Oser. He seems really well organised, and a nice bloke. I have started off by owing him for my evening meal and tipping kitty! I brought dollars as I couldn't get Rupees in UK! The whole group met together for an induction chat. All seem really nice! We went for our first authentic Indian meal as a whole group. Loved it! Really good food. I went for the chicken curry with garlic naan. I really enjoyed it.

I am now absolutely spent! Ready for bed, up at 7am for first day out tomorrow. Really good arrival day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb