Dilli finally!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Karol Bagh
January 23rd 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Delhi or “dilli” as most residents would say is a great and a vibrant city. It’s got so much culture that you would be surprised - all bustling together with the shiny and modern buildings.



Water and coke are pretty cheap and easily available. But if you really want to quench your thirst then there is nothing like beer and give rest to those sore muscles after all the walking that you have done. There are plenty of beers available and believe me when I tell you that I have tasted quite a few. In Delhi, I tried out the local Indian beer called Godfather Strong and boy; this is one of the best that I have tasted in a long time. I was told that it’s available all over India and quite popular.



This was quite by chance, but while searching some history of Godfather beer, I stumbled on this website called http://godfatherzone.com/findyourpub.php which gave me the whole listing for pubs in Delhi by area. Now that’s what I call service, because I didn’t find any other website that was exclusively dedicated to finding pubs by the area in a city. The listing gives you the name of the place, phone, timings, cost of a beer, and a Google maps for the destination. In fact many pubs have happy hours during the business hours and this means a double delight for travellers like you and me.



The next day, I visited “Dilli Haat” which is bang opposite INA market in South Delhi. “Haat” means local village marketplace in Hindi and you can get incredible deals on handicrafts from all parts of India. Negotiate really hard and you can get the prices down. Remember you can get really good stuff here when bargaining especially for all the folks back home. Now with a bit of shopping done for my girlfriend back home, I wanted to have a chilled glass of Godfather beer!



I headed straight for a very popular café and restaurant known as Blanco in Khan Market, that’s not too far from Delhi Haat. This is an ideal place to relax, because it has American and European style cuisine which is awesome. While they did have Godfather Strong on their drinks menu, it seems that day they had just managed to run out of it. Well! To quench my thirst, the server recommended that I try out Kingfisher or a Godfather Lite. Having tasted Godfather Strong, I was all in for Godfather Lite. This was a surprisingly good beer. I was told that it has a unique 25 days brewing cycle containing the best malted barley and good quality German hops. The taste was really refreshing and I would definitely recommend it for all the beer lovers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb