Happy Hindu New Year


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Elephant GodThe Elephant GodThe Elephant God

Ganesh is the son of the main god and goddess of the Hindu religion. He represents prosperity.
I arrived in Pune yesterday and spent most of the day resting. Today is the Hindi New Year and the offices are closed. I spend most of the day getting to learn my new digs for the next three months. Shrikant met me at the airport and getting into customs in India was a dream compared to Peru.

I walked down the streets of Pune and felt very safe, there were plenty of women in Saris walking alone. Unfortunately most of the stores are closed but I did find out the fitness center and made myself work out. I am also by a McDonald's they mostly have a vegetarian fare but fish and chicken also. Sorry Texas, no beef. The room is comfortable. Please go to the gallary and look at the pictures for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Two New FriendsTwo New Friends
Two New Friends

Ashta and his brother joined me for a walk down a very nice residental area in Pune, all they wanted was me to take their picture. I am now their Auntie.
Sand PaintingSand Painting
Sand Painting

To celebrate this whole month of holidays, like our Christmas season, culminating with Dawali on Oct 28 and 29, the hotel has sand painting in their lobby.
You Thought I was in India?You Thought I was in India?
You Thought I was in India?

This is probably the closest I will get to Eygpt but this is a Hi-Tech store called pyramid
Banyan TreeBanyan Tree
Banyan Tree

These trees drop their roots from their branches.


2nd October 2006

Glad you made it to Pune safely!
Trudy. I was thinking of you yesterday and hoping that you made it to Pune safely! Love the photos and will look forward to your comments in the blog. Please tell everyone that I said hello! -Karen
2nd October 2006

Hurray
Trudy, glad you made it ok. I hope you enjoy the stay and it looks like you are already making friends - auntie!
2nd October 2006

HI!
Hi Trudy, Glad you made it there safely and Roshan is taking good care of you! I am sure you will enjoy this stay in India so much! Say hello to Roshan and his wife, and keep blogging! P.S. Nice pictures!
2nd October 2006

Keep on trucking
Great to see you with a journal up and running Trudy. Enjoy your travels in India, I would love to go but currently backpacking around Eastern Europe PS In manage photos scroll down to the actual image you have uploaded and you can rotate one of your photos if you like.
5th October 2006

Happy New Year
Hi Trudy! Sounds like you are off to a great start already. Tell Shrikant and Roshan that David and I say "hello." We just got in yesterday from our vacation - I think I need another few days to recooperate. Keep us posted on your travels and all your new experiences.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb