Singh Garh Conquered


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
March 6th 2010
Published: March 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My cousin - Swanand had been pestering me to start doing practice of climbing small mountain ranges first - Tekadi as we call these in Marathi and then take up the larger mountain ranges. This was only to gradually build up my lung capacity and also to train my aging legs.

It is a pity that we do not have such apt words like Tekadi and many more in other foreign languages, and still we say that we are comfortable in such other languages.

So Swanand just did not want to leave me since the day I said big Yes to his proposal for Kedar Trek planned in May this year. Finally the D - Day arrived today, or should I say " I was forced in to it finally having no chances for further escapes or excuses.

I was also excited right from yesterday, like a kid. That indicates that I am a slow starter, but once pushed in to it, I gather child like energies. I got a torch and a support stick , Kathi as we call in Marathi ( again nothing so apt in English ) arranged for me. My wife made a small pouch of sugar ( as I am a diabetic ) and kept it with my purse. I had supposedly lighter dinner and above all I switched of the TV and avoided seeing the on going world cup hockey matches. And yes, I really hit the bed early. Early to bed early to rise ..... Followed for the first time??

I put an alarm for 4.15 A.M. and checked twice for its performance. Now I did not want any loose ends or mishaps. Dot. on time I sprang out of the bed and got ready in no time. Swanand came to pick me up dot at 4. 45 A. M. Disciplined man that he is.

We reached the place , about 35 kms from our house, where we were to start climbing. See !! in Marathi we call it Payathyashi. Does any one have a better word in English ?? We started our journey at 5.45 A. M. Swanand and few of his Friends had created a sort of bench mark , only on the previous Sunday, of about 1 hour to get to the top, at about 1800 - 2000 feet.

We reached there in about 1 hour 45 minutes. Not bad for a first timer, a diabetic patient of 62 years and who is heavily built. Of course we took more stoppages then others during the ascent. The kathi and swanand's support notwithstanding, the effort was dam good in my opinion. It was also nice to see people helping and cheering each other on the way.

The experience of the climb to the top , the freshness of air, the cool breeze and finally the hot and chilly kanda bhaji, taak, zhunka - bhakri, kulhad curd and kulfi ( no words for these ones too in english ) which were served on a bhartiya baithak was all mind boggling and out of this world. And I mean it.


What was more pleasantly surprising is to know that the Punekars are really fanatics and extremists of sorts. Whatever they do is with complete enthusiasm. They Love Cultural programmes - You will find the whole city thronging at the place. They Love fitness - You will find the whole city doing some thing or other to keep themselves fit. I learnt that about 1000 odd people climb the mountain every week. It is almost difficult to find a parking place on week ends. Today was also no exception. I could see people of all ages from 5 to 60 up the hill. Hats off to the spirit. if this is fanaticism, then every city should have such fanatic people.

I beseech you all my friends and well wishers to take this trip at least once when and if you are in Pune. The real taste of Pudding lies in Eating - They say....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb