Western Ghats: Panchgani, Wai, Menavali


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
June 10th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A quick note from the hill station of Panchgani, high in the Western Ghats. It's beautiful here, surrounded by woods, and it's cold too; i need either a jumper or a constant supply of warming masala chai. We're staying in a tiny bungalow on the hill, overlooking the valley below and the true blue reservoir of Dhom Dham. At night, fireflies flash green around the windows and in the morning you can hear wild peacocks calling. We came here to visit the nearby town of Wai and the village of Menavali. These places don't feature much in guidebooks, but we've seen a handful of Hindi films shot in the area, and the temples and ghats (steps leading down to a river or tank) are gorgeous. In Wai, we visited the Ganpati temple and walked around the town. There was a stampede near here in 2005 in which around three hundred people were crushed to death. It was hard to imagine that happening in such a shanti place. After Wai, we drove to Menavali. If someone were to ask me where the loveliest place in India is, right now I'd say, on the banks of the Krishna river, sitting on the ghat, with Menavali's beautiful waterside Shiva temple nearby, watching the locals washing their water buffalo, whilst koels fly overhead. Amazing. Nobody minded us enjoying the scene with them. We chatted with a couple of people, but mostly just relaxed. It was the total opposite of being in an Indian city. Time felt gloopy, like honey. There were white cows with purple tikka stripes on their heads. Girls were washing metal cups, thali plates and clothes in the river. There was a warm breeze. Sometimes i think i can fall in love with India in a thousand different ways. Whilst in the area, we also took in the fort of Pratapgadh. It's on a hilltop and has blackened walls with vines creeping up it. Clouds of mist race up the walls; it's a moody place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



16th July 2009

menawali
HI IAM SANDIIP.AND IAM PROUD MY NATIVE PLACE MENAWALI. WAGHAJAI MATA KI JAI.
3rd August 2009

SWADES MOVIE
I LIKE THIS PLACEAND VISIT IT IN FUTURE.
12th February 2010

menavali
, I AM DHANANJAY SABLE , AND I AM PROUD MY NATIE PLACE MENAVALI, MY DIV WAGHAJAI MATA KI JAI .@ MENISHVR GANISH MANDHIR ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ..........................THISH IS PIKNIK POINT ,NANA FADNIS VADA IS MENAVALI .............. ///////////////// HAPPY SHIV RATTRI
10th April 2010

Good Job..!!!
I was just surfing through and found your page....really I was facinated by the pics here and your blog. I couldn't resist reading all about your trip to India. But I think you missed some great places. (one always misses something...as its so much to see here ;) ) Anyway... Good Job...!...and When are you planning next trip to India? ...whenever...You're most welcome :)
11th April 2010

thanks Gaurav, I'm very happy to say that I should be in India for a week this summer, and I can't wait! I do not have long, but hope to visit the Ellora and Ajanta caves from Mumbai. It'll be my fourth time in India and it's a country I have become so fond of. Thanks so much for reading my blog. Best wishes, Lu.
6th July 2010

Good collection of art
It is amazing pictures
29th December 2010

Wow!
You have published a really nice post. I have been to Wai a few months back. I had published photos of Dholya Ganpati [Wai] in my blog post http://blog.chaukhat.com/2009/12/dholya-ganpati-temple.html. Maybe you will like to see just to refresh your memories :) Good day Lu Barnham! All your posts are amazing!!
3rd January 2011

Thanks for your comments Bhavesh, I will check out your blog. I love Wai, hope to go back one day :) best wishes, -Lu Barnham -

Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 19; qc: 89; dbt: 0.2612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb